SATA CD/DVD showing up in IDE channels... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2010, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default SATA CD/DVD showing up in IDE channels...

I've got all my hardware installed, and I'm going through my BIOS settings before installing my OS. My SSDs are showing up under Integrated Peripherals, which is what I would expect. However, my CD/DVD is showing up under Standard CMOS, and it looks like it is set up as an IDE Master. Is this wrong? I can't seem to do anything to get it to read as an SATA drive.
__________________

earwicker7 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: SATA CD/DVD showing up in IDE channels...

Is your SATA controller in IDE or AHCI (or RAID) mode? If it's in IDE the drives will act as an IDE channel for compatibility with older software. Switch it to AHCI mode which is the native SATA mode and it should show up as a SATA device.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: SATA CD/DVD showing up in IDE channels...

It's set to AHCI... that's what isn't making sense. There is a message when I go into BIOS which says "This version only supports Hard Drives and CD-Roms"; I can't imagine that, given I have a top-of-the-line motherboard, this means no CD/DVD-roms.
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: SATA CD/DVD showing up in IDE channels...

SOLVED! Apparently, the SATA3 controller doesn't like stuff that isn't SATA3 (despite backwards compatibility). Place it on a SATA2 controller, and it's recognized correctly.
earwicker7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SATA HD not showing up in computer; showing up in BIOS Total Immortal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-30-2009 11:23 PM
20 channels on my tv Norcent Off Topic Discussion 19 06-27-2006 09:56 AM
SATA hard drive showing up in taskbar as removable disk? mesean New Systems | Building and Buying 8 03-24-2006 10:59 PM
5.1 channels and 7.1 channels Flanker New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-27-2005 03:49 AM
SATA drives showing in safely remove hardware tray icon synergy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-11-2005 06:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.