san diego or venice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 178
Default san diego or venice

Hey, need some advice.

Do i go for the

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939)

or for the

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939)



I've heard that the san diego core isnt that great.
__________________

__________________
AMD Sempron 2500+
ASRock K7S41GX Motherboard
1gb DDR Ram (PC2700)
80gb SGB Hard Drive(OS)
40gb Maxtor Hard Drive
PNY GeForce 6600GT AGP 128MB
5.1 Creative Surround Sound System
SamBarry is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

the venus core. get an opteron 146 or 148.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

DEFINITLY go for the 3700+, it has a 1mb L2 Cache.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Trust me, you want the san diego core 3700+. You will love it. It runs a fraction of a degree warmer than that of the venice, but that is because it actually has full use of its L2 cache.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

They're the same core design, but the San Diego has a 1mb L2 cache instead of Venice's 512kb L2 cache. The 3700+ is the simple choice.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

whoever told u the SD core isnt the great is WRONG!
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

yeah, the SD core is a beast, same core used in the FX series, and overclocks like a champ.
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TipsySmile
and overclocks like a champ.
Not really. The opteron 14x CPUs basicly have a san diego core, except it is called venus and it overclocks way better. It has all the same features as the san diego core. You'd be hard pressed to find a 146 that didn't hit at least 2.8GHz, and it runs at 2.0GHz stock. In fact, I will be selling a 146 here very soon, so I'd wait just a little longer
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 08:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

Yes really...3700+ is great...had mine stable at 2.9 Ghz with stock cooling, stayed under 60*C...just downclocked it 'till I get a heatsink and some fans so I can go for 3.0 ghz...I highly recommend it.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I'd get the Opteron.

BTW "Twizted_3kgt" your peak temps are pretty high. That's only 9*C under the MAX temp for your CPU.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.