San Diego or Opteron? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2006, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default San Diego or Opteron?

Everyone at steam forums are saying go for opterons, they are sick at overclocking. My friends on another smaller forum, say just go for a San Diego. I will eventually overclock... And i am wondering which one i should get, and how high i could OC the opteron, some people got theirs to *2.8*.... Could this PC below be able to get to 2.7 or 2.8, and what kind of heatsink should i get?

Processor 223$ 3700+ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
Motherboard 69$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
Case 65$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068
DVD player 23$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827101668
Thermal Compound 11$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007
Ram 81$ 1 gig http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
Hard Drive 58$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106
Power Supply 54$ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008

592$

Thanks.

(BTW, i have already gotten my 6800GS.)
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get the opteron 146 or 148. My 146 is stable at 2.9GHz (2.0GHz stock) with air cooling.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

What about a heatsink?
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I use the Scythe Ninja.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you're oc'ing i recommend getting a DFI mobo, becase they're built for oc'ing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

They are probobly out of my price range...
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you can't afford DFI, BIOSTAR has just recently made some very nice affordable motherboards that have great overclocking features for the price:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138264
They are well regarded at xtremesystems.org, and although they are mATX, they will still fit in an ATX case. For $75, you can't go wrong.

However, if you can afford the DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, it would be much better:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

my 3700+ is stable at 2.86 Ghz with stock heatsink, and there's room for more...i've heard the Opterons are over-hyped and not worth the extra money over the San Diego...and from what I know, i'd have to agree.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 10:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Will an ATX case go with a micro atx mobo?
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

no...you need a case with micro atx compatability for that.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.