Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Question Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

I have a Samsung monitor and it has two input options:
1) VGA
2) DVI

What would happen if I connect one computer to the DVI input and another computer to the VGA input and turned BOTH the computers on at the same time?

Would this harm the LCD? Or would it tell me that there are two sources and tell me to disconnect one of the inputs?

I need one more monitor, and I am thinking about hooking two computers up to one monitor and I was just curious about this...
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

No it will be fine the dvi will work along with the vga as a dual monitor setup.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csaefong View Post
No it will be fine the dvi will work along with the vga as a dual monitor setup.
So it will show two computers on the monitor? Is it a split screen?

EDIT: I think you misunderstood, I meant 2 computers and 1 monitor, not 2 monitors and 1 computer.
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

it will show two screens the main 1 whichever u want will show all your programs the second monitor will have your desktop background and whatever you drag into it so for example your playing a game on the main monitor and u drag your AIM into the second monitor you will be able to see your AIM and play game on the main monitor.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csaefong View Post
it will show two screens the main 1 whichever u want will show all your programs the second monitor will have your desktop background and whatever you drag into it so for example your playing a game on the main monitor and u drag your AIM into the second monitor you will be able to see your AIM and play game on the main monitor.
lol, you did misunderstand. I'm talking about 1 monitor and 2 computers.
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Samsung Monitor (Dual Computers??)

Oh it just wouldint work in that case because the video card in the first computer will only support that computer not a second one lol
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.