Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot?

I bought two Samsung 216BW monitors over the weekend. I gave one to my Mom, who just started grad school, and the 2nd was for myself. The one I gave my mom works wonderfully, and this is a BEAUTIFUL monitor. The one I tried installing on my new system does NOT work despite everything I have tried.

I am wondering if anybody has any troubleshooting ideas to help me out. Obviously my first move as soon as I get home is to test the non-working 216bw on my mom's system, to see if it works there. If it does, then I know the monitor is good and the system is incompatible.

What other kinds of troubleshooting can I try? It was driving me nuts last night.

The DVI output didn't work even though I have a DVI vid card on my mom's set up. It didn't work until I tried VGA. On my setup, neither DVI nor VGA worked.

Q6600
8800GTS
p35-ds3r (F4) [I am thinking of flashing to F5 tonight]
Crucial Ballistix
Plugged into an 1875watt surge protector
__________________

Sardonic is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot?

what resolution/refresh rate was your old monitor? i had a crt that ran at 1600x1200 85hz and when i got a new lcd nothing came up it took me a while to realise the resolution was too high for the monitor and for some reason windows could not adjust the size automatically. just a thought but you could have the same problem.
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot?

Very good thoughts. The new monitor is much larger than the old, however. Also I desire to run the old next to the new, but the new is now the primary.

I can't even pull up the OSD. I have a feeling I'll be going to circuit city tonight. THIS is exactaly why I purchased the monitor from a physical store.
Sardonic is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot?

It was bad, the new one works great
Sardonic is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Samsung 216BW BLANK. Help me troubleshoot?

figured so, nice monitor though
macdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.