Same board but different price?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Question Same board but different price??

Hi

What's the difference between the:

Asus A8N-SLi Premium nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard

offered on the overclockers site =
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...ocket_939.html

and the seemingly idential product on the pyramid site =
http://www.pyramid.com/Product.aspx?StockCode=3D291417

In curious as to what is offered in the price difference?
__________________

Vokmar is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The second link doesnt work, but a guess would be that it's on sale.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah bad second link....
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

think thats the link he ment:

http://www.pyramid.com/Product.aspx?StockCode=291417

I cant see any difference overclockers are just more expensive but have excellent delivery.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your replies guys.

The overclockers motherboard's price doesn't include delivery. That's another £8 on top! But in all fairness their servce is second to non. For example: I sent back an MSI motherboard because i heard it was rubbish. I explained that i wanted to exchange it for another board, and that i wanted to add it to another order i'll be making in a few days time - to save on delivery cost. The very day they got it, they processed it and issued a refund.

I almost feel guilty shopping else where because they've been so good to me, but i'm not made of money and this upgrade is breaking the bank...

Btw, i've been looking at both your system specs in your sigs and noticed that you're both using high watt PSUs.

Here's the spec i'm upgrading to:

6800GT 256
The mother board shown
2x 516 DDR 3200 ram
AMD 3500+
And a 430 PSU - antec

I have two 80g maxtor hard disks
No extra fans (but that will change)
Modem
soundscard (low spec)

Will a 430 antec PSU be enough to power all that?!?
Vokmar is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Yeah antec are good and keeps a steady voltage. Your buying a sli mobo though? so do you intend to go sli? Personally I wouldnt bother has little advantage for the price. If you do go sli might need a better PSU. For what you have at the moment though 430 watts is fine.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 03:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

No, i don't intend to go SLI. I've seen some bench mark results and it doesn't seem worth it.

However, that board seems to be of a higher quality that the non SLI ones therefore i've opted for that board.

I don't suppose anyone can recommend a good non SLI of the same quality as the one featured above?
Vokmar is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would recommend a DFI NF4 Ultra-D
it does actually support SLI, but you don't have to use it. it's a very good board.

otherwise I'd suggest an MSI K8N Neo4. it's a great board. not as good as the DFI, but less expensive.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the response guys.

I'll let you know how i get on.
__________________

Vokmar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.