Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

Hey guys, I have a quick question.
I cannot remember if its safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP box.
Will I have to OSRI after adding more RAM?

PC:
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
512MB (i'll be adding another 512 stick)
WinXP Pro

thanks ^_^
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

what do you mean livexp box?? as in.. the computer is still on.. cuz yes, yes it is bad..

if u can turn it off... then no, there is no problem with adding more ram at all
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 06:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

If you try and pull out the ram whilst its running you can get sparks and a loud screeching noise its quite fun use to do it an old dell as a sadist act. You can add ram without a reinstall of windows the only time you need to reinstall windows is if you change the motherboard and occasionally with the cpu. This is due to chipset changes and driver conflicts if your lucky like I have been you can still run xp after a mobo/cpu change but I reinstalled just for safe measure.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 06:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 76
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
If you try and pull out the ram whilst its running you can get sparks and a loud screeching noise its quite fun use to do it an old dell as a sadist act.
I so have to try that when i build my new pc lol
nukeman8 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 06:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeman8 View Post
I so have to try that when i build my new pc lol
Yep on a new Quad SLI Core i7 build. Just start pullin out those DDR3 dimms. lol.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

If you want another fun and deadly thing to do get a power pack like they have in schools set it to its highest settings and attach it to some graphite rods via crocodile clips (pencil with the wood removed works well). You have just made a massive sparkler and if held together for a long amount of time they fuse together not really sure how as it takes a temperature of over 3500 degrees to melt graphite but it happened.

You can make a super heated wire cutter by adapting a motherboard 24pin off of a psu and some wire with quite a large gauge then attach the negative and positive to the ends of the wire making one slidable. As you move then ends closer the wire will get hotter because of electron density and concentration of energy on a non insulated wire. Burns through pretty much anything and gives lovely straight lines if your hands are steady I sometimes use it to cut wood as a saw is way to boring.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

You must be using the insane asylum's computer to post from....right??
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
If you want another fun and deadly thing to do get a power pack like they have in schools set it to its highest settings and attach it to some graphite rods via crocodile clips (pencil with the wood removed works well). You have just made a massive sparkler and if held together for a long amount of time they fuse together not really sure how as it takes a temperature of over 3500 degrees to melt graphite but it happened.

You can make a super heated wire cutter by adapting a motherboard 24pin off of a psu and some wire with quite a large gauge then attach the negative and positive to the ends of the wire making one slidable. As you move then ends closer the wire will get hotter because of electron density and concentration of energy on a non insulated wire. Burns through pretty much anything and gives lovely straight lines if your hands are steady I sometimes use it to cut wood as a saw is way to boring.
I'm not going to lie when i say i just wet myself laughing.
bricro is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

The scary thing is its the truth, I just have a fascination with engineering things and hence the super heated wire device. The graphite was discovered whilst bored in a chemistry class when we were electrolysing an ionic compound and I have always had a fascination with misuse of electricity.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default Re: Is it safe to add more RAM to a live WinXP install?

HAHAHAHA no, I was not meaning that the computer was still on. lol

I meant "Live XP install" as: "a functioning install of windows"

Will I have to re-install windows after adding a new stick of ram?
Will windows freak out? or will everything be fine?

lol ^_^
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install New Drivers In Safe Mode? reckliss New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-19-2008 01:18 PM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM
RAM Install HELP NEEDED. Muzicvirus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-04-2008 11:23 PM
Monitor has no signal after ram install ??? chr_mar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-01-2008 09:39 PM
Can't install OS / bad ram? dawizhacker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-27-2007 04:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.