Sad Times. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2007, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Sad Times.

Not sure whats going on but this PC isn't working very well. While im online it will kick me off saying there was an unknown error.

Video card randomly turns off games. The games recognize what it is and suggest Max settings, but a little into the game it just turns the game off, doesn't say there are errors or anything like that, doesn't go non responsive, the screen just goes black for half a second and I'm at my desktop.

Im going to probably reformat this and give it another go. Not sure what else to do.
__________________

__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Sad Times.

I'm thinking Arby's.


Actually, what I'm really thinking is faulty RAM. Pull out a stick and test each one individually, then do some memtest86
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Sad Times.

you can get alot of strange problems from a failing psu. maybe you should check that out too?
__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Sad Times.

Make sure everything is seated properly. If you get any bsod's, it may be a driver issue, i have the same board (minus sli) so i can help you out.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Sad Times.

ok, I reinstalled windows and all the drivers, and now its MUCH worse but in different ways...

Right now the best resolution I can get is 640x480.... On my 22" widescreen with the eVGA 8800GT...

It was fine at first. But I really don't know what to do now, what could be failing ???

I'll check responses on another PC, I really need the help guys, I need this running and stable January

So far, RAM and PSU are on your guys list, keep the idea's coming.
__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Sad Times.

Drivers, i didnt install the onboard sound driver and nvidia ide driver i think it was, cause one of the two would make my system unstable when booting.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Sad Times.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Drivers, i didnt install the onboard sound driver and nvidia ide driver i think it was, cause one of the two would make my system unstable when booting.
Alright, i've installed both of them.

How can I uninstall them ?
__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Sad Times.

I reformated 5 times when i built this rig, so yeah but i think if you cant uninstall from control panel, then another format is in order. That way you can isolate which driver it is.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Sad Times.

It sounds like a graphics problem if you can't change resolutions. Make sure you have up to date drivers, and make sure your card is seated correctly. Also, try using one or the other sticks of RAM. Don't get flustered! I had to reinstall about 5-6 times to get my last system working correctly, and it took about 2 days.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 10:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Poemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Default Re: Sad Times.

....Are you using Vista?
__________________

Poemaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
number times I can re-install XP? And file deleter question. Vaanish Microsoft Windows and Software 8 11-04-2007 08:53 PM
Windows Media Center is giving me wrong program times... Aesrin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-11-2007 11:31 PM
I used my windowsxp serial too many times. Now what? stainer711 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-10-2007 12:27 PM
I beat morrowind a lot of times but i wanna know what something is..... veg1992 PC Gaming 8 06-17-2007 10:09 AM
Activated my windows too many times, help! diabloII Overclocking and Modding 10 05-20-2007 09:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.