sad now :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 04:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 45
Default sad now :(

well....i just got an email from ncix and it looks like i will be getting b3 stepping...

how well do you guys think i'll be able to overclock it with a Asus p5k deluxe mobo, and a Thermalright ultra 120 extreme?
__________________

N1gh7 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: sad now :(

eehhh....well....at clubit.com you can get a q6600 with g0 stepping, so i'd go there because they they guarantee it. So rma the quad you got now and go get yourself a g0

btw, from what i've seen q6600's that are g0 stepping tend to be able to overclock to 3.8 ghz, and some even get up to 4 ghz... so going with a g0 would be the best way to go i think...
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: sad now :(

4Ghz on a quad? What kind of cooling is that. Link me to it.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: sad now :(

You can get the Q6600 G0 to 4GHz, with a good watercooling kit, or if you have a really good cooler, like the TR Ultra-120 Extreme.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 06:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: sad now :(

i wouldnt go through the hassle of RMAing it just keep it and you will be able to get it to around 3.2-3.4 on air
which will be a really good performance increase, i seriously doubt you will notice the difference between that and 3.8 g0 stepping
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: sad now :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by N1gh7 View Post
well....i just got an email from ncix and it looks like i will be getting b3 stepping...

how well do you guys think i'll be able to overclock it with a Asus p5k deluxe mobo, and a Thermalright ultra 120 extreme?
well u got all the good other stuff, just ur b3 being a limiting factor... i say 3.4ish..... (like fade said)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: sad now :(

Odd, I ordered about a week ago, before ordering I emailed them to see if I'd get a g0 stepping, and they told me they were all out of b3's.. I got 2x SLACR's from them.
IridetheShortBus is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 08:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: sad now :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
i wouldnt go through the hassle of RMAing it just keep it and you will be able to get it to around 3.2-3.4 on air
which will be a really good performance increase, i seriously doubt you will notice the difference between that and 3.8 g0 stepping

the difference between 3.4 and 3.8 on a quad is quite noticeable, enough so to want to rma a b3 and get a g0
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.