running two harddrives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2007, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default running two harddrives

Lots of people are telling me that I should run one hard drive for my OS and one for all of my programs. My two hard drives:

160GB 7200RPM SATA2
80GB 7200RPM ATA-133

My question is which hard drive should I use for my OS and which should I use for everything else
__________________

hail. is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: running two harddrives



Usually it's one hard drive for the OS and applications, and the other for storage of music, games, pictures, and what not. So you should use the 160GB for storage, and the 80GB for OS and applications, or programs. Generally the bigger partition or hard drive is used for storage. Or since your 160GB is an SATA2 drive, maybe that should be for OS and programs. It will load a little faster, but you'd probably won't notice.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: running two harddrives

i would use the 80 for os and apps, 160 for storage like bigapple said
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: running two harddrives

I would run the SATA drive for your OS and the ATA for your Storage in most situations, but since you're SATA is the larger of the two I would suggest using it for the storage and the ATA for the OS. I have found the best way to run 2 HDD's though is in RAID 0 configuration, but you would need another 160GB SATA for that.
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: running two harddrives

Reasoning behind using a different drive for OS is lots of people, myself included reinstall on a fairly regular basis. Its just easier to reinstall windows sometimes than to try to figure out what piece of crap spyware/adware got in when you werent looking and how to get rid of it :P
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: running two harddrives

agreed^ lol
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: running two harddrives

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Reasoning behind using a different drive for OS is lots of people, myself included reinstall on a fairly regular basis. Its just easier to reinstall windows sometimes than to try to figure out what piece of crap spyware/adware got in when you werent looking and how to get rid of it :P
You can always create Partitions in the setup process.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Re: running two harddrives

Does the 160GB SATA drive have 8MB cache or 16mb? If it's 16mb, install the OS on that. You WILL notice a difference with Windows load times.

If you need the 160GB drive for storage, just create a small (~8GB) partition on your SATA drive for Windows, and the rest for storage. Then you just install your apps on the 80GB.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: running two harddrives

nah the cache on the 160 is 8mb- thx for all the help btw
hail. is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: running two harddrives

what im doing right now is i have three hd's
250, 160, and a 40. i have xp with all my progs on the 250, stroage on the 160, and xp with the very basic programs (antivirus, drivers ect) on the 40. if my 250 ever has something happen to it, while im trying to fix it, i can just boot from the 40 and be off clean. I just got the 40 off some computer i ripped apart.
__________________

taintedplay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet running slow on one computer onizzy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 08-14-2007 02:12 AM
Am I running to hot? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 03:59 AM
XP running slow -CPU @100% 70%of the time! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 16 07-10-2007 07:36 AM
Computer Running Very Slow!! Please help! johnc123 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-10-2007 11:01 PM
Internet/computer running slow vampyric_blood HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 03-25-2007 10:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.