Running SSD with HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2014, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: America
Posts: 13
Default Running SSD with HD

So i've got a quick question that i'm hoping has a simple answer. I just bought an SSD and installed windows 7 on it. I previously has my os on my HD. i want to be able to use the HD for media storage and stuff, but i'm not entirely sure how to do that. Do i have to reformat the HD or do i keep the OS on it? Thanks for the help!
__________________

supmahnugga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: Running SSD with HD

the windows install has options to format wen u install but u should be able to got to my computer right click the drive and format it then u can use it for what ever you like
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Running SSD with HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by supmahnugga View Post
So i've got a quick question that i'm hoping has a simple answer. I just bought an SSD and installed windows 7 on it. I previously has my os on my HD. i want to be able to use the HD for media storage and stuff, but i'm not entirely sure how to do that. Do i have to reformat the HD or do i keep the OS on it? Thanks for the help!
To prevent a startup issue in the near future, I would clear out the old windows 7 partition from your hard drive. :/

1.Go back into your old hard drive, back up whatever files you like.
Depending on the space of your old hard drive, make 4gb ntfs logical partition for basic storage of your files.
2.Next download this: EaseUS Partition Master Free Edition - Free download and software reviews - CNET Download.com
Click on the direct download link.
3. Install it and follow what I mention at step 1.
4.Once your done click apply so it will do the jobs and finish.
5.When you are ready, you may click your old c partition on your hdd and click delete.

Have it fomat to ntfs, the program will help explain the rest.
Should take you less than 20 minutes to do that no problems.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Running SSD with HD

Install your previous HDD and then format it within Windows. Make sure your bios is set to boot from your SSD.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.