Running by a new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2012, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Running by a new build

Hi all,

Gonna build a new pc again. Here's what I came up with:

- Cpu I5 3570K http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116504
- CPU Cooler? Scythe Mugen 3 PC Games Hardware Edition
- Mobo Asrock Z75 Pro 3 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157304
- Videocard Sapphire 7850 2GB OC http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102999
- SSD Samsung 830 256GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820147164
- HDD Seagate 1TB 7200RPM http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148840
- Case Fractal Design R4 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811352020
- RAM Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233186
- PSU Corsair TX 650 V2 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139020
- Burner LG Burner http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136247
- Monitor Dell 23" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824260055

This all counts up to around € 1100 over here.
List with Dutch links: http://tweakers.net/gallery/351083/#tab:inventaris

I'm only going to use a single monitor (the Dell one). Will the 7850 be enough or should I opt for the 7950? There's a 100 buck difference.
Also I'm still unsure about the SSD. SSD 128Gb vs 256Gb? More is better of course but I'll also have an 1Tb hdd so is it worth it? Every penny counts.
I'm not going to OC the CPU. Is the stock cooler quiet (enough)? And since I'm not going to OC is the I5 3570k still the way to go? also should I go for the Z77 board which is 40-50 buck more expensive than the Z75?

No OS/keyboard/mouse/speakers needed.

That is all I guess. Your input would be most welcome.

Kind regards
__________________

__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Running by a new build

where are you ordering from? do you need windows 7?

it looks good, but everything changes if you arent going to overclock (which is different than saying you might down the line.)

you can save a few dollars by going with 2 sticks of 4 gb ram, instead of 16 gb total.

saving money by going with a non overclocking cpu and mb will get you more money for the video card.

also it would be helpful to link directly to the product page. just put in the full link to the product on its own line and it will automagically fix it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Running by a new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
where are you ordering from? do you need windows 7?

it looks good, but everything changes if you arent going to overclock (which is different than saying you might down the line.)

you can save a few dollars by going with 2 sticks of 4 gb ram, instead of 16 gb total.

saving money by going with a non overclocking cpu and mb will get you more money for the video card.

also it would be helpful to link directly to the product page. just put in the full link to the product on its own line and it will automagically fix it.
I'm ordering from the Netherlands. No OS needed. Will add in newegg links.
Changed 16Gb to 8GB. Was planning to anyways but copied the wrong model name .

Mobo also changed to Z75 board. Might OC like 4 years later or something. Currently on a Q6600 and still don't really see a need to OC it. Only oc'ed it to 3Ghz just to experiment with a first time OC. But like to keep the option open .

Should I upgrade the 7850? Max resolution will be 1920*1080 I think for the Dell.

All is like a one time buy. I won't be upgrading down the line. Also no Dual videocard which is why I changed to the Z75 mobo.
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Running by a new build

What he meant is link directly to the online store you're purchasing so we can see direct prices to match with your budget.

To answer a few questions, if you want to save money go ahead and grab the 128GB SSD since you can install much larger programs on the 1TB as a data/storage drive.
I would personally say get a 660ti or 7950 instead. If you are a gamer you want more GPU power than CPU power. In regards to the cooler, if your ambient temps are not above average (say over 80F/26C) and you don't OC the stock cooler is quiet. It's only when you put one in warm environments or OC that the stock cooler really kicks in full speed and it can be noisy. Since your in a cold area I'm going to guess that wont be a problem.

Regarding your last statement, I stress either a 7950 or 670.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Running by a new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What he meant is link directly to the online store you're purchasing so we can see direct prices to match with your budget.
Oh like that The site I use is a comparison site that gives several online shops.
Here's a list I made matin112 | Tweakers Tweaker Gallery
The list gives the cheapest prices incl tax but excluding shipping.
Please let me know if you can't see it. Since I don't know if it'll show to anyone or just the one that made the list.

Currently playing low graphics games like League of Legends and Guild Wars 2. But also play CoD and such from time to time. Need to have a hard think about 7850 vs 7950. I could fit it in my budget but don't want to think it's overkill.

The 7950 is in the same price range as the 660ti. 670 shoots the price up with another 80-100 and is thus not an option.
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Running by a new build

Well then you could always go middle ground and get a 660 non ti. That is pretty much 7870 performance except a tad better. Yes we can see that list and it looks fine. Still not sure if the aftermarket heatsink is necessary.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Running by a new build

I'll leave the aftermarket heatsink for now. Can always buy one later if needed.
Think I'll also downgrade the SSD to 128GB and use the money to get Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3.

Also, is it ok to reuse my psu (corsair tx650). It's over 4 years old...
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Running by a new build

I just ordered everything including a new PSU. Just don't want to take the risk although I think it should be fine. Will probably arrive tomorrow!

I've been reading up on optimazing the SSD. Do I still turn of indexing (Start Menu -> Right-Click Computer -> Manage -> Services and Applications -> Services - > Right-Click Windows Search -> Startup type: Disabled -> OK) since I'll be using a SSD and HDD. Or just disable it in C:\ properties?
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Running by a new build

Disable it in properties and
Go to services (CP > admin tools > services) and disable:
Microsoft shadow copy
Offline Files (if you have it)
Superfetch
Volume Shadow Copy
Windows Search

Also BEFORE installing Windows, make sure AHCI is enabled in your bios.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 02:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Running by a new build

Build my system and have installed most and done those SSD tweaks.
My cpu temps with the stock cooler are 30C idle and around 70C prime95. Are those temps ok?
__________________

__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.