Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2009, 11:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
What sucks on my tv is that my only option is VGA or HDMI. I dont have DVI. You would think on a 3000 dollar TV it would have that option. Heck, my 42" sony has DVI.
Ouch that stinks, funny thing is, DVI is compatible with both of those.

Quote:
Quality-wise, HDMI and DVI are the same.
Yeah, they have the same electrical signal.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 11:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
What sucks on my tv is that my only option is VGA or HDMI. I dont have DVI. You would think on a 3000 dollar TV it would have that option. Heck, my 42" sony has DVI.

Uh, what do you mean? Can't you just use a dvi to hdmi adapter thing on your graphics card? You must be talking about something else, but I don't know what it is.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 11:10 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

He means without using an adapter, I assume .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 11:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

No, my tv itself only has hdmi and vga INPUTS. My video card has both DVI and HDMI out.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 12:07 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

You could go hdmi to hdmi then couldn't you?..
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 02:00 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

if you have an independent audio receiver you can run the video on hdmi and audio on a different channel or just plug the hdmi into the tv and the audio to the receiver. like others have said nvidia has a good controler for adjusting the screen size if that doesnt work your tv should have one too
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:33 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

HDMI is just fine for TV....you can only go to 1920 x 1200 anyway.

Then just hook up some speakers for your sound. I just hooked mine up to my sound card...worked great.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:32 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Running a comp on a 52" 1080p tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
You could go hdmi to hdmi then couldn't you?..
Thats how i have it setup. With digital audio going straight from the mobo to the reciever.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.SKILL Memory 800mhz running at 400mhz Nino_1 Overclocking and Modding 9 02-11-2009 02:05 AM
i7 920 & G. Skill 1600 running way too slow Mikepsyche Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 01-25-2009 12:02 AM
Comp running slow... wootwoot HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 12-14-2008 12:49 PM
Computer Running Very Slow!! Please help! johnc123 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-10-2007 11:01 PM
No video but sounds like its running fine Tadow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-01-2007 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.