Rough layout...hows it look? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default Rough layout...hows it look?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146970 (2 x 1 gig of OCZ performance RAM) $194.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152 (DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard ) $129.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008 (ASPIRE 520 W PSU) $59.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103544 (DUAL CORE AMD 4800+) $466.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144151 (ASPIRE X CURISE CASE) $69.99 <--Maybe looking for a bigger case?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144151 (CD BURNER/MEDIA READER)$38.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829121122 (SOUND CARD) $71.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835186134 (ARCTIC COOLING FAN) $34.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148065 (HARD DRIVE 250 GB) $103.00

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130249
(EVGA 7800 GT 470 MHZ) $312.00 Im not biased towards ATI or Nvidia...just thought this was a nice card


Yeah and for all you dial up users im very sorry... so I left notes of what it was and what brand...

Any way yeah so, and kudos to this website, wich has saved me over 900 bucks haha thanks
__________________

Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

.. Umm... I would go for a 4400 X2... Only around 400MHz with both cores, i believe.. And you save.. TONS! Then go for a lian-li case... 100$ or so... I wouldn't get a sound card, but that is just me... I would rather have an uber fast 74gb raptor than a 250gb, but i dont use a lot of space...
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Overall looks like your heading in the right direction. A couple of things though,
1) never heard of that sound card brand.
2) Your CD drive links to the case.
3) There is a sick deal at newegg which lets you get a AMD X2 4800 and a 7800GTX and save $100. Look under the CPU at the combo specials. For $40 more, you can go from the GT to the GTX. (i'd get the evga one). If you dont want it (dont know why you wouldnt), the 7800GT is still an awsome card.
4) Id go with an OCZ or Antec PSU - more reliable brands.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817711002
5) Your CPU heatsink isnt compatable with you motherboard. Look at the Zalman 7700, 9500 or TT big typhoon
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118115
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223
6) You may want some RAM with better timings for a little better performance. It will help if you plan to OC the RAM.
This is a good deal with the mail in rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
Also good price.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032

The case should be big enough for everything. I have one almost exactly the same size and i have enough room.

Quote:
Any way yeah so, and kudos to this website, wich has saved me over 900 bucks haha thanks
NEWEGG ROCKS :beard:
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

see this why I ask you guys...you guys know EVERTHING!! thanks again
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Ok so evreything above except I ditched the sound card and got a 74 gig raptor...also I got the Lian-Li 777B witch has tons of room...I also changed to a combo deal... an AMD X2 4800+ Toldeo and with a GTX 7800 256 mb.. for 1,000 dollars...I thought it was great deal any way yeah so I think I got evreything right...if not please notifiy me haha thanks evreyone
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Are you getting the raptor in addition to the hard drive you have listed? If it were me, i would get the 36GB raptor for my OS and games, and get like a 200-250GB drive for everything else.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

so get a 36 GB raptor and get a Bigged gard drive for evreything else....so putting my OS and Games on the raptor would make my System and games faster cuase the Hard drive is alot faster right? and then all my documents go into the bigger one? ok...I think I get it know...
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Your bootup time and load times would be faster, not the actual games. Loading maps for BF2 or whatever would be faster. The reason i recommend the smaller raptor is because the higher rpms will have less of an effect on everything else and the bigger ones are too expensive.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280
Default

Ok but I dont know if a 32 GB can hold all my games?

hl2,F.E.A.R,Far Cry, COD 2, BF2, Source, ??
__________________
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Windows XP: about 2.5GB
HL2: 4.5GB
F.E.A.R.: 3GB
Far Cry: 4GB
COD2: 4.5GB
BF2: 2.5GB (+1.5GB for expansion)
Source: ?
Total: 22.5 That leaves about 9GB (minus whatever source takes) for other stuff.

If you install some things on the other Hard drive, it wont be that big of a cut in load times. I can load any BF2 map before everyone on that server except about 2-3 peeps. I spawn before about 60 people each time the maps are switched. . Thats on a 7200RPM SATAII drive. You can install some games dont take as long to load on the second drive, like COD2 or Source.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.