Rig Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2010, 05:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Rig Upgrade

before I start just wanna say, epic skin, so nice, sorry I haven't been on much recently I've been active on another forum (Boo) Because it's a place where I buy from and u get discount but I'll get active here again.

Hope you missed me

Current rig is:

Asrock N68C-S UCC
|Corsair 2GB XMS2 DDR2 Ram @ Stock
|AMD Athlon 6000+ @ Stock
|XFX ATI Radeon 5770 @ Stock
|Seagate 250GB Barracuda 7200RPM Sata HDD|100GB Partition for OS|150 for Data
|LG Flatron M228WDP 22" TV/LCD @ 1650x1050
|Casecom 6788 Case
|Thermaltake 450W Modular PSU
|Logitech G15 Keyboard
|Logitech G5 Mouse


I've got around 200 atm, I'm owed 80 aswell.

Should I bother upgrading now or wait until sandybridge/bulldozer?

Friend offered me an i3 and board for 70 and I could get 4gb ddr3 corsair 1600mhz for 44

OR i could get an X6/Use my current board/get 4gb ram.

or just wait?

Because my thoughts were that an i3 wouldn't last very long as it wouldn't be futureproof. I don't wanna have to upgrade for like 2 years

I'm also upgrading PSU next month.

Spec parts from Aria PC - Computer Hardware, Components, Monitors.. at lowest prices or Cheap Laptops, Computers and Cheap LCD TVs | Ebuyer.com please!

Use my computer for Gaming most of the time/occasional video editing.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

Rawr! Anyone?
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

I MISSED YOU!
Get a Phenom II and DDR3.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

Which phenom I could afford the X6 1055 + 4GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ Ram. Or I could get an i7 950 for 150 >_>
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

Well how much do you want to spend?
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

As much as I have to to get an upgrade that'll last 2-3 years
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Rig Upgrade

In 2 or 3 years even the best out now will be borderline obsolete. I would go with a i7 950, a LGA1366 mobo and 6GB (3x2GB) of DDR3 1600.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.