Rig by Tech Forums - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 02:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avatar
Yeah, there both Serial ATA150. Those are smaller cables then the IDE right? Also my last question would be, OEM or Retail? Does it matter?
OEM means that sometimes it's not coming with all the parts. in this case it might not come with the SATA cables. I never worry about that cause I have a bazillion of them, but youmight want to make sure you have some first, just in case...

I also agree on the card issue.. 7600T at least. the 512MB is not all that much if you don't have the Mhz and pipes to back it up. that 6800XT isn't bad... just dated. but if your waiting around for the latest and greatest come DX10 and Vista, then it'll hold you over...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 04:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

Processor: AMD 3800+ X2
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI deluxe
Ram: OCZ Gold 2x1 gig
Video Card: evga 7600gt
Hard drive: WD 400 SE
DVD burner: Samsung lightscribe
Power supply: corsair 520 w

this comes to about a grand leaving u with 300 or so left to spend (assuming u dont need a monitor, mouse, keyboard, speakers, or case), suggestions are as followed:
- get a conroe + conroe board and drop the amd combo (gives an average of a 30 or so percent increase in overall performance) a e6600 + some conroe enabled board and your off to go
- the more expensive wireless edition of the asus m2n-sli board
- upgrade videocard to a 7900gt (x1900xt is better but mobo isn't crossfire enabled)
- another 400 gigs perhaps xD
- get another dvd burner or a dedicated cd burner to have dual drives
- could get a 150 gig raptor
- if you dont trust corsair as a psu manu. pick enermax or pcpowerandcooling both very trusted brands
- save 300 bucks for emergency uses
- spend it on your GIRLFRIEND!!!
- give it to the homeless
- get volcano insurance
- no more suggestions as trotter will ban me lol
__________________

__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Ok so I went ahead and bought the M2N-Deluxe non WiFi, and the 6800xt. After a bit of consideration I decided that the 6800xt would be good enough to hold me over till Vista DX10 arrive. So I should be getting the Video Card and MoBo on Wednesday and I'll also finish up buying the rest of my stuff on Wednesday.
One last question, I watch a lot of movies, and plan on hooking my computer to my TV so I can have friends watch movies at my house. Do I not need a sound card for that? Or would a stereo reciever work?
Avatar is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 04:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

wait for sound right?? if you have a sepereate stero with your tv that has RCA inputs, then you need a Y connector. Bassically its has a headphone jack on one end and a red and white plug on the other.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
HD 1: WD Raptor 36.7gb 10k
Are you only installing windows on this drive or something?.. If you plan to install any decent amount of games and/or programs (not to mention windows should be on this hd).. Upgrade to a 80gig raptor if not larger.. 40gig or less gets used with like 1 game nowdays.
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 05:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
OEM means that sometimes it's not coming with all the parts. in this case it might not come with the SATA cables. I never worry about that cause I have a bazillion of them, but youmight want to make sure you have some first, just in case...

I also agree on the card issue.. 7600T at least. the 512MB is not all that much if you don't have the Mhz and pipes to back it up. that 6800XT isn't bad... just dated. but if your waiting around for the latest and greatest come DX10 and Vista, then it'll hold you over...
I was going to quote the top part of the post only, and say that your mobo should come with the cables needed anway, but after reading the second half, i must quote it, too, for it's helpfulness. Definitely agree with upping the card.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.