REVERSE Hyperthreading for AM2! - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2006, 12:04 AM   #71 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

OOOO you said the c word!

ehhh yeah I like watching the zombies walk too.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:05 AM   #72 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
ehhh yeah I like watching the zombies walk too.
lol.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 01:46 AM   #73 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Nothing on AMD's roadmap suggests that consider it a false rumor.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 04:36 AM   #74 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok to see what is happening here almost makes me cry. flanker let sleeping dogs lie, no need for a vendetta. if you can't stand the attitude of people here and believe the mods hate you i see no incentive for you to come here other than to flame and argue. if that is the case you have no purpose here. leave us alone

it actually depresses me that you waste all your intelligence on bigoted posts. the reality is this: THE WORLD IS NOT AGAINST YOU!!!!!!!

THE WORLD IS NOT AGAINST YOU!!!!!!!
THE WORLD IS NOT AGAINST YOU!!!!!!!
THE WORLD IS NOT AGAINST YOU!!!!!!!

you don't need to be so defensive of your point and aggressive towards others. your message is being heard loud and clear (by some), most of all by me who you are so aggressive towards. those who aren't understanding your points aren't worth arguing with. you interpret everything i say through your defensive mindset as disagreeing. i haven't disagreed at all.

Quote:
"If you argue with an idiot, he will drag you down to his level and beat you down with his experiance..." -Flanker
according to another user you said this profound sentence, keep that philosophy in mind regardless of whether or not you said it

this RHT rumour in my opinion is false. the only way it could work would be to split instructions in half but that doesn't seem achievable.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 10:13 AM   #75 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Couldn't AMD write some drivers for either Windows or the bios?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:19 PM   #76 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
this RHT rumour in my opinion is false. the only way it could work would be to split instructions in half but that doesn't seem achievable.
or to send every second instruction to the second core

I have been digging around, and I think this is what AMD is doing for K8L:
  • moving to 65nm (will improve efficiency and clockability)
  • improving and fixing bugs in the DDR2 memory controller (they need to anyway)
  • improving the architecture's efficiency (more instructions/clock cycle)
  • using silicon-germanium transistors, to decrease their switching time (by about 30% I think)
  • adding another complex instruction decoder (from 3 to 4)
  • Reverse Hyperthreading (maybe, maybe not)

so if AMD does all this (ad maybe more) then K8L should be quite good
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:21 PM   #77 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea they use Silicon-germanium in the beast of an IBM CPU @ 500GHz.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 02:30 PM   #78 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Moving to a smaller production size does not improve efficiency...it simply allows for a bit higher clockability and less power consumption.

DDR2 won't show any performance increases.

"Improving the architecture's efficiency." That is a result, not an action. You need to explain how they are accomplishing this, or else its nothing.

The additional complex instruction decoder may indeed help, but not enough.

Reverse HyperThreading - Um...maybe not, lol.

I think that the maximum performance increase possible from Conroe is going to be 20%. No more, it just won't happen. Not from an architectural revision.

As for the Silicon-Germanium transistors...where did you get that? I know those are the same ones used in that IBM chip, but where did you get that they're going to be using those in K8L?
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:39 AM   #79 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

hmmmm i have also read about AMD planning to use SiGe chips but i don't know if thats true. Intel currently use a tiny amount of Germanium in their "strained silicon". should be interesting. i'm curious as to how IBM managed to get this chip working at such a high frequency at approx. 3 degrees above absolute zero. i was under the impression that at that temperature a) volume of all substances became miniscule-unmeasurable and b) electronic activity slows.

Quote:
or to send every second instruction to the second core
i can't believe i never saw it that way . ultimately if it were possible to split an instruction (which i don't think you can) it would be better as that would basically yield a 100% increase in performance as both cores should be used to full power. alternating the instructions would work though i think it would give between a 30-60% in efficiency (i really kind of pulled that number from my butt, but it sounds about right to me) as inevitably one core would have to wait for the other core to finish its instruction before it could continue.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 03:04 PM   #80 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

RHT brings up a very interesting possibility. If it can, in fact, be used to create a virtual dual core on 4X4, AMD could really be on to something. Conroe killer? If the rumours are true, and the prices on AM2 drop enough, maybe.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.