Reverse Hyper-Threading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Reverse Hyper-Threading?

"It seems that all AM2 CPUs were outfitted with a support for Reverse-HyperThreading, an architectural change which enables software to think that it is working on a single-core alone. By combining two cores, the company has been able to produce the six IPC "core" that will go head to head against four IPC "core" from Conroe/Merom/WoodCrest combo."

__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

all i have to say is...... WOW!

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=103636
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

uhh....there like...an ENTIRE THREAD on this already...6 pages actually. and its very active. What on earth is that anyway? how about a source?

Another forum? lol. I want benches, not words.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

buncha rumours, i've looked into this matter and AMD hasn't released any sort of info whatsoever about this topic, probably because they are still busy with their 4x4 thingy and their 65nm products, so if this thing will really exist (Although that in the future it wont be needed because most things will work on dual cores already) it wont be in the year of 2006, and definantly not untill Q3 2007.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Yea, just go read the other thread, please. It was right on the mark.
Infomatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.