Reverse Hyper-Threading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2006, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Reverse Hyper-Threading?

"It seems that all AM2 CPUs were outfitted with a support for Reverse-HyperThreading, an architectural change which enables software to think that it is working on a single-core alone. By combining two cores, the company has been able to produce the six IPC "core" that will go head to head against four IPC "core" from Conroe/Merom/WoodCrest combo."


Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle

all i have to say is...... WOW!

*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
BennyV04988's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835

uhh....there ENTIRE THREAD on this already...6 pages actually. and its very active. What on earth is that anyway? how about a source?

Another forum? lol. I want benches, not words.
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

buncha rumours, i've looked into this matter and AMD hasn't released any sort of info whatsoever about this topic, probably because they are still busy with their 4x4 thingy and their 65nm products, so if this thing will really exist (Although that in the future it wont be needed because most things will work on dual cores already) it wont be in the year of 2006, and definantly not untill Q3 2007.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232

Yea, just go read the other thread, please. It was right on the mark.
Infomatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.