Is it required to have quad core for new games now? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2008, 09:59 AM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

^i never said they would loose performance, i said that they will not perform as well in quad core optimized tasks. Which is true. So it's kind of like saying they will loose performance.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:17 AM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
actually by what i have seen, the only game of those that duals seem to be better is ut3.also you say that ur dual will be the best in gaming and out perform quads, yeah for only a short while right now. You must realize that more games are coming out that are going to be much better optimized for quad core cpu's, and the number is going to drastically rise. So your dual will loose performance in games soon. But that's just my opinion fortified by new releases to come. Yes at todays current applications and games, duals win. But in a less then a years time, duals will not be as you say, and quads will win a decisive victory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^i never said they would loose performance, i said that they will not perform as well in quad core optimized tasks. Which is true. So it's kind of like saying they will loose performance.
No, it's just that quads will gain some performance. Dual's won't lose performance in any way.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:34 AM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

^hmm lol, i did not realize i was saying that. I shall re phrase. Duals have an advantage right now in most applications because they do not utilize 4 cores. But new applications will, so duals will not meet the requirements of four cores. so they will not perform as well as in applications today. Quads however will. SO in a matter of speaking the application will not perform as well with a dual core powering it as it would with a quad core. So again, in a matter of speaking duals will loose performance, not physically on the die though, just in applications and games.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 02:33 PM   #34 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
actually by what i have seen, the only game of those that duals seem to be better is ut3.also you say that ur dual will be the best in gaming and out perform quads, yeah for only a short while right now. You must realize that more games are coming out that are going to be much better optimized for quad core cpu's, and the number is going to drastically rise. So your dual will loose performance in games soon. But that's just my opinion fortified by new releases to come. Yes at todays current applications and games, duals win. But in a less then a years time, duals will not be as you say, and quads will win a decisive victory.
Game development takes time cause I m sure such WONDERFUL games like Crysis weren't popped out in a few months. Besides the low system requirements alone hint that it wasn't meant for an extreme Quad core set up.

Once again though Crysis isn't normal everyday average gaming. Besides just because more and more games that are coming out require higher minimum system requirements. Doesn't necessarily mean older set ups can't handle them. If anything I would think games are just starting to use all two cores and graphics cards to their fullest potentials. Why would Game developers waste their time creating simulations that can't run on 90% of computers?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:13 PM   #35 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Why would Game developers waste their time creating simulations that can't run on 90% of computers?
so they can get press like Crysis did. Its only known to be demanding. Its not known for its gameplay at all. I figure they worried more about that than the actually enjoyment of the game.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
so they can get press like Crysis did. Its only known to be demanding. Its not known for its gameplay at all. I figure they worried more about that than the actually enjoyment of the game.
The only thing they're doing then is pushing all their customers to console gaming. Cause at least with the consoles you won't have to deal with hard ware issues.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:47 PM   #37 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

No way would a pc gamer switch to console. I think they are pushing the hardware
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:27 PM   #38 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
No way would a pc gamer switch to console. I think they are pushing the hardware
They will if pc upgrades remain twice the cost of the console. While the games are about the same in retail value. So unless your pirating it would actually be cheaper for you to game on a console and less hassle.

With the console the life span is about at least twice as long as opposed to upgrades to the pc.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:37 PM   #39 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
They will if pc upgrades remain twice the cost of the console. While the games are about the same in retail value. So unless your pirating it would actually be cheaper for you to game on a console and less hassle.

With the console the life span is about at least twice as long as opposed to upgrades to the pc.
That's true but console games graphics are generally not as good as pc games. Plus you can use a powerful pc for allot more than gaming.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:41 PM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is it required to have quad core for new games now?

console graphics are poo
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual core Vs Quad core ?? illnastyimpreza New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-03-2008 11:57 PM
45 nm quad core Eric1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 02-12-2008 11:52 PM
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
OCC makes a quad core bike for Intel. Jayce Off Topic Discussion 31 12-31-2007 12:35 AM
true quad core processing robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 12-04-2007 09:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.