Replacing Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2008, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default Replacing Mobo?

I am going to be changing motherboards, I want to know what data I will loose.

My current setup that was built earlier this year.
HD #1 WD Raptor 150 gig, pat C: Win XP Pro Pat D: Adobe Creative Suite
HD #2 Seagate 500 Gig, pat E: All other programs. Pat F: General Storage
HD #3 Seagate 500 Gig Pat G: Video storage Pat H: Photo strage.

My Mobo has been a pain with firewire, and I need it, so will change it out tonight and use my current one for another build.

What should I back up before I install the mobo?

dennykyser is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Replacing Mobo?

well if ur gonna just swap mobos just uninstall all ur drivers b4 u take ur current mobo out, then do the swap mobo's and and install all ur drivers agin. id say uninstall all ur drivers (mobo, gfx, sound...) w/ a driver cleaner just to be safe

u might run into some conflicts still but its doubtful if u use a driver cleaner if u wanted to do it the safest way and be sure to have no conflicts just reformat but u'd loose pretty much everything on ur hd #1 and ud have to reinstall all ur programs on hd #2


- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Replacing Mobo?

Well when you change your board, you will get instability (or there's a slight chance you won't) when you change it...

I recommend doing a Repair
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 08:18 PM
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 11:03 AM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 08:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 02:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 05:05 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.