Replacing a E4400 CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2010, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Replacing a E4400 CPU

For the last few years I've been very pleased with the E4400 recommended to me by the members of these forums. You guys were spot on. It's been rock solid and I've been running it at 2.57 ghz even though it's rated at 2.0. Lately I've been thinking about an upgrade though. The last few days I've had some problems I attribute to the processor - even though I've now clocked it back to 2.0. (And it's a good excuse to upgrade regardless...) So if I were to upgrade what would you recommend? Stay with C2D? Go with a quad? I'd like to stick with socket 775 for now, I'm not quite ready to jump to a new motherboard. I'd also like to be under or around $150. Any thoughts? Thanks!
__________________

eipnvn is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 50
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

My only thoughts are IF you have Vista x64 or Win7 x64, then a faster-clocked quad (Q6xxx) would probably show you a nice improvement.
I always go for the higher L2 cache, even if it costs more. Doubling your L2 from 2MB to 4MB can cut your launch-times in half. Emphasis on "can". If you get a quad-core with 1MB per core (total 4MB) and you're running an app that only utilizes one core, then the extra cores and L2 won't help.
A Q9400 or Q9505 would cost ~$190/240 and would give you 6MB of L2 total, and you could overclock to about 3GHz.
If you go faster (Q9450, Q9550, etc.), the price skyrockets.
__________________

JeffO is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 01:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Whats your board? Older boards are toucvh and go on 45nm chips, and even more sketchy on 45nm quads..

My 680i will do all 45nm duals, but no quads.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

I'm using an evga 650i ultra - that's very interesting to know that it may have problems with quads. I never even thought about that. Is that the case even though the specs say that the quads should work?

also, (JeffO) I am using Win7 x64 so that's good advice. And thanks for the thoughts on the cache, I will definitely keep that in mind as I look.
eipnvn is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Yha, like my 680i, you can't run 45nm quads. q6600s are crap now unless you can find an older one.

I wouldn't bother getting a quad, as the good ones won't fit. Go for the best c2d you can get for your money.

Something like this:
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7600 Wolfdale 3.06GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 03:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 50
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Win7 x64 has the best multiprocessor traffic-control ever! It is awesome. I run i7 (4 hyper-threaded cores), and it is a wonder to watch Task Manager when i have memory loaded with heavy applications. Every core is balanced well, except that hyper-threading only seems to use one hyper-thread on one core. But all the four main cores are equally loaded.
Too bad about the quad being too if-y, but great patonb had the experience to steer you away.

Something else i thought of... At work, I timed launches after reading about L2 cache. Apparently WinXP has a limit to how much L2 it handles by default, and anything over that is wasted unless you edit a Registry key.

At the time i did all this testing only SP2 was out. I think SP3 increased the amount XP handles, but I don't know what the new limit is. But hard-coding this value can't harm you, and guarantees you get to use all of it.
Just make certain you don't mix up hex and decimal. the value should equal your L2 cache in KB.
Edit per total L2 cache. So if a person had 1MB/core, and a quad-core, they'd still edit to say dword:00001000 (4096) decimal

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager\Memory Management]
"SecondLevelDataCache"=dword:00000000
; SecondLevelDataCache default = 0 for dynamic/auto
; dword:00000200 is equal to 512 decimal
; dword:00000400 is equal to 1024 decimal
; dword:00000800 is equal to 2048 decimal
; dword:00000c00 is equal to 3072 decimal
; dword:00001000 is equal to 4096 decimal

Hope this isn't TMI. This edit is a free performance boost for many people running XP.
JeffO is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 03:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Hmm. So am I stupid for spending $150 on a 775 processor? What would be the cheapest i3 processor/MB combo that you would recommend?
eipnvn is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 03:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Eek, thats out my knowledge... but a newegg sale could easily extend you current setup for awhile.

Best question is, what do you use it for?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 05:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

Great question. I do a little gaming, nothing hardcore, but I do like to be fairly well on top of things. I'm running an HD4850 and can still pretty much max stuff out at 1920x1200 with that card and the E4400 overclocked. So I'm happy with that, I'm just worried that I'm going to drop $150 on something that I'll really wish I could upgrade in 6mo or a year.
eipnvn is offline  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Replacing a E4400 CPU

K, then this raises the 2nd question of do you plan on an upgrade soon?

If the e4400 is still fine, don't upgrade, the cpu, and get a i5/i7 and a ddr3 ram mobo.

future proofing.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Cooler question...... LFCJohnSmith Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-13-2010 03:46 PM
somebody explain these cpu scores to me tastegw Overclocking and Modding 0 12-11-2008 02:57 AM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.