Replacing CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2009, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Replacing CPU

so as said in my other posts "something is wrong with my build. i went to an IT tech. at the place i worked and he went through everything and we concluded that the problem was the processor. I have tri core processor and for my replacement i am going to buy a quad core but i got confused to which one will work with my motherboard

i have this motherboard: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3 AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards which says it is a AM2+/AM2

my processor is Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 710 2.6GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
which is AM3..so maybe the problem was that they did not match? this build was suggested by trotter so my question is should i be looking an AM2+ or another AM3?

i was thinking Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops
would it work with my processor?? (and whats a CPU magazine?)
__________________

chump is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Replacing CPU

the x3 710 isnt a problem, it will work in both am3 and am2+ mobos, you can rest assured Trotter knows what hes talking about

yes, the x4 940 will work with your mobo. the cpu magazine is just a gift bundled with the cpu. its basicly what it says it is, a magazine. i dont know whether its just one issue or a subscription, dont worry about it.

about your problem, did the 710 not work at all from the beginning, or did it work for some time? i ask because maybe you need to flash the mobo's bios for it to work, which isnt uncommon, sometimes the boards just come like that from the factory, with an older bios verison.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Replacing CPU

thank you for the reply

it worked for about 3 months and now when i boot my computer all the fans spin for a second and then it shuts down.

today i tryed it without the videocard, same problem. without the ram, same problem. without the cpu, it does not shut down right away concluding that the cpu is the problem

and yes i used a jumper to flash the bios and also i sent my mobo back and gigabyte said that there is no problem with it.


so upgrading my CPU which is a better deal

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

or

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

or

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
chump is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Replacing CPU

I say go with the 955.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Replacing CPU

ok. maybe you can still return the cpu for a replacement.

out of those 3, i would go with 945 or 955, because they are am3, so you can still use them if you decide to upgrade in the future to an am3 mobo and ddr3 ram. the 955 will probably be better for OCing though, since its got an unlocked multi.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Replacing CPU

thanks. well i plan to send mine back but the process of RMA takes too long and i havent been able to use my computer in months. so i am going to get a new one and have this one for a backup or maybe a second build down the road. hopefully the processor is the problem tho haha.

thanks for the replies.
chump is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Replacing CPU

So the CPU was the problem the whole time... i just want to know how it happened so i can stop it from happening again.

do i need to apply thermal paste or do new cpus come with some on the heatsink already? ive downloaded programs to watch the temps. right now the cores are all at 38'C, is that normal?


IMPORTANT!!!!

can my power supply handle my new cpu?? so far ive gotten 2 instances where my monitor went black and i couldnt get back on even tho my computer was running fine....
__________________

chump is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Fan Error Phaint Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-29-2008 01:58 PM
CPU Upgrade question tothemax6 System Upgrades 14 12-28-2008 11:04 AM
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 12:03 PM
CPU help. Can some one explain them? White_Wolf System Upgrades 8 07-25-2008 08:49 AM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.