Replace 1.7 GHz P4 for a 2.4 GHz Celeron D? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Replace 1.7 GHz P4 for a 2.4 GHz Celeron D?

My friend is currently using an old 1.7 GHz P4 and wants a cheap upgrade. He's looking into the 2.4 GHz Celeron D, which is only $70 on Newegg. Will the Celeron D proove to be a good improvement over his old P4 or not much? I am guessing it will since it has a higher FSB and clock speed, but I don't know much about Celerons.

How well does a Celeron D overclock? One guy in the newegg review said he got 4 GHz on air.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Not from a 2.4GHz Celeron he didn't.

It won't be much of a upgrade, if at all.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Like Flanker said it won't be much of an upgrade,You might notice some performance boost but not much at all,I used to have an old celeron 2.4 and my buddy's 1.8 P4 used to kick my but at everything
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

Celeron is for very basic computing, a watered down version of a p4. Processors won't be much of a significent upgrade unless its big. Don't bother wasting $70 for it.
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

p4 to celeron? that's more like a downgrade
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

celeron D is better than normal celeron because it have more cach memory.

anyway replacing 1.7 GHz P4 for a 2.4 GHz Celeron D will not give u a good improvement
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
celeron D is better than normal celeron because it have more cach memory.

Who care's about the cache size when it's such a crap cpu
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 06:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i wouldnt be suprised if the celeron would perform worse than that P4. get him to save some cash and get a whole new comp
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Or just spend some more bucks in some RAM. Dont bother with the Celeron because it's just for doing the office/email things.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Alright thanks for the help. One of the biggest reasons he wanted to upgrade is for overclocking. He overclocked his P4 from 1.7 to 1.9 and can't go any higher because he will have to raise voltage. The CPU has no temp sensor so raising the voltage wouldn't be a good idea without knowing temps.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.