Removing Bottleneck From GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2008, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Removing Bottleneck From GPU

I cheaped out alot on the processor when I built this rig. Right now i pull about a 10k even in 3dmark06 with everything overclocked to the max. I definately know that the GPU is being bottlenecked, because I have seen several benchmarks with it pulling 11.5k stock on a non overclocked system. Would upgrading to a 6400+ x2, or even a 6000+ x2, overclocking it, pull the bottleneck off the gpu? Havent seen any benchmark around with any of those 2 processors and an 8800gs, but ive seen on ORB someone with a 6400+ and an 8800gt getting a 14k 3dmark06, and the 8800gs is slightly lower in performence then the 8800gt, so according to that, unbottlenecked I could probably get it up to atleast a 13k 3dmark06 with everything overclocked to the max.

Any input? Would it be worth it to spend ~120 on a processor upgrade? Or should i just wait and save up a few more bucks and buy a new motherboard and buy a q6600?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

How about a 5000+ Black Edition @ 3.2ghz (it hits there by increasing the multiplier just once) [reuse the AF7]
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

6400+ runs at 3.2 stock. Could probably get it up to 3.5 with some good cooling and decent ram. Also, the 6000 and 6400 are windsor cores, and i believe they have more cache.

Edit - 6000+ AND 6400+ have 2x1mb l2 cache, well most other athlon x2s only have 2x512kb.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

They also run hotter and consume more power

Cache isn't that vital when it comes to gaming
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

Well, Power consumption isnt really an issue with me. As for heat, I know it will run hotter, but I can only get the 5000+ black up to about 3.3ghz max, and I could possibly get a 6400+ to 3.5, or the 6000+ to 3.4ghz, all well producing nearly the same amount of heat.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

Actually 6000+ don't have that much overclocking headroom... even with Water Cooling Apokalipse had a bit of a time getting past 3.5ghz of the original 3.0ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

Does he has the 89w version? or the 125w? I take it the 89w produces less heat? Also, its only 8 dollars more on the egg. Otherwise, what about a higher speed 5000, such as a 5600+?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

I think he got the first one that came out (the 125w TDP one).

But erm check the 5800+, its pretty new (1mb cache total though).

Check out the Opteron Santa Ana's but they are 90nm. However they have a lot of OC'ing headroom.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

I guess it is new, I havent seen it yet. Runs at same speed at 6000+, less L2 cache, but its 65nm, which is good, and 89w and cheaper. I think about that one definately.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 11:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Removing Bottleneck From GPU

Were did you see a 8800gs pulling 11.5k without overclocking? That would put it above a stock E7200 and HD4850.

What temps are your 8800gs getting at 720mhz?
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would my computer bottleneck? phuse System Upgrades 8 07-20-2008 10:55 AM
Is my cpu going to bottleneck a 8800gt? dario03 Overclocking and Modding 3 03-07-2008 05:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.