Reformat when upgrading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Question Reformat when upgrading?

Alright, in a few days i should be getting my parts, i'm only salvaging the case optical drives and HDD. So i was kind of worried, my friend said a while ago when he just upgraded his mobo and psu he ended up having his hdd whiped, and my other friend says you don't need to reformat when upgrading. So just wondering if anyone can tell me the truth (sorry for the newbish question, never done this before) Oh and if anyone has a link to a good computer building guide that would be great, as i'll be needing it
__________________

Richimself is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Anyone?
__________________

Richimself is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

U probably could swap the info onto another hard drive and then put it back when u change the motherboard and PSU.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

But what i wanna know is do you actually have to reformat when you upgrade hardware or can you keep all your info and just whipe the drivers?
Richimself is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

u don't need to reformat if u r upgrading hardwares on ur computer. (exept for motherboards, u'll need to reformat)
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I've upgraded lots of things, including the motherboard, without having to reformat and reinstall the OS, but if you're concerned that you might have to, or want to, partition your drive now with a seperate partition for your OS, and move all the data you need to save onto the second partition. then you will feel free to reformat that OS partition and reinstall the OS if you need to.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Ah thank you, i'd rather not have to reformat, but should do what you said anyway just in case? could something possibly go wrong that would cause me to have to reformat? Thanks again for the help
Richimself is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I like to keep a partition for my OS anyway, and have had lots of incidents where I was able to reinstall windows without backing things up. I highly reccomend it. And if you're doing an upgrade, it can't hurt to be prepared.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Alright i'll probably do that then, thank you again for all your help
__________________

Richimself is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.