Recording Computer Build Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2007, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Recording Computer Build Questions

k im looking to build a computer for my recording studio... i know this is not a usual thing for you guys but what do you think of this setup?... i need fast lots of ram and lots of space... i cant seem to find a good case... also i need a cooler for the proc. i need this PC to be as quiet as possible... if there are any better parts plz suggest... I like the BFG PSU because of the Lifetime warranty... sorry about all the links but i didnt think that you guys could see the wishlist or cart

Case:

Newegg.com - NZXT Zero Black/Silver Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER COSMOS 1000 RC-1000-KSN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

Mobo:

Newegg.com - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Processor:

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail

HDD:

OS
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Storage
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar RE2 WD5000ABYS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

RAM:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Video Card:

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100196L Radeon X1950PRO 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

PSU:

BFG 1000-Watt ATX SATA-Ready SLI-Ready EPS RoHS Active PFC Power Supply BFGR1000WPSU at TigerDirect.com
__________________

Looby is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

Well, for starters you don't need that power supply. A Rosewill 520watt would do great.


Newegg.com - Rosewill RP550-2 ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply 115/230 V CSA,UL,TUV, FCC - Retail
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

for a quad core and multiple (7) fans ? also i need a lot of power for use of my audio recording equipment. i should need that much because i cannot afford to let the voltage drop for even a second. if 1Kw is too big (really?) i would prefer to go with 800Watt just to be safe (if power drops i get latency and pops clicks and all kinds of unacceptable ****) also i will be running XP pro and i believe i understand that xp cannot read 4GB of RAM but... it can read like 3.34GB? correct i think im just pulling #s out of my butt i cant remember but i need as much ram as possible
Looby is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

I'd look at other motherboards.

Definitely look at other power supplies. Yours is huge overkill.

I've never seen those RE2 500GB drives, they seem to be better than the SE16 ones though. I was actually planning on building a system with 5x SE16 drives in a RAID5, but if those RE2 ones are better... I'll have to look into that.

What exactly are you recording?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

24 tracks of live audio + up to around 129-221(highest ive done yet... ) channels of loops and synth effects also each of those 24 tracks and most of the other channels need EQ, Compressors, Delay, Reverb and on and on. each of these effects are taxing as **** on a Processor. i can run about 7-10 at a time on my 2.4Ghz PC and then i get pops and stuff so this needs to be a beast of a computer im not
Looby is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

Well, in all honesty, that's the first PSU I've seen with four 12v rails. What are you plugging into it that you think you'd need so much power?

(I'm not a PSU expert, just curious)
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

fans use hardly any power. even 7 isn't gonna hurt anything. and with a 520 you could probably run 6 hard drives on it with the video card you have and not have problems.

But if you are still worried then get this.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 620W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

^ 620watt corsiar. if people can run sli 8800gtx video cards on it, it can handle your audio equipment.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 129
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

well i honestly have no use for the rails (isnt that just for graphics cards?) but i will have probably 10 HDDs in there about 4-5 CD burners (didnt list those need good quality lightscribe or professional print burners) uh... firewire cards (onboard is usless to me) havent bought those yet but i found some with dedicated power to the ports from the PSU which will be used to run midi conrolers interfaces outboard synchable gear and all that so idk if i need that much power but i just know if power drops off for a sec then i have to start over and clients dont like that...

also i know the BFG is fairly quiet which is a must how quiet is the corsair and warranty i REALLY like lifetime warranty
Looby is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 01:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Looby View Post
well i honestly have no use for the rails (isnt that just for graphics cards?) but i will have probably 10 HDDs in there about 4-5 CD burners (didnt list those need good quality lightscribe or professional print burners) uh... firewire cards (onboard is usless to me) havent bought those yet but i found some with dedicated power to the ports from the PSU which will be used to run midi conrolers interfaces outboard synchable gear and all that so idk if i need that much power but i just know if power drops off for a sec then i have to start over and clients dont like that...

also i know the BFG is fairly quiet which is a must how quiet is the corsair and warranty i REALLY like lifetime warranty
I'm not an expert, you'll have to have Sora or someone else come help you on the PSU, but if I remember right, SATA3.0 uses the +3.3v, +5v, and +12v rails, so you'll need them all. If you need 5x (sata) optical drives, and 10x (sata) HDDs, then you might want to focus on a more balanced power supply, where the one you picked is more heavy on the +12v rails.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 06:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Recording Computer Build Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Looby View Post
well i honestly have no use for the rails (isnt that just for graphics cards?) but i will have probably 10 HDDs in there about 4-5 CD burners (didnt list those need good quality lightscribe or professional print burners) uh... firewire cards (onboard is usless to me) havent bought those yet but i found some with dedicated power to the ports from the PSU which will be used to run midi conrolers interfaces outboard synchable gear and all that so idk if i need that much power but i just know if power drops off for a sec then i have to start over and clients dont like that...

also i know the BFG is fairly quiet which is a must how quiet is the corsair and warranty i REALLY like lifetime warranty
No, everyone uses "rails" regardless. Graphics cards and CPU's all run their watt's on the 12v rails while each HDD and optical drive use about one @ on the 12v and then some of the other rails.

The Corsair 620HX has one large 50@ rail and this will be plenty enough to handle anything you have to throw out it. as stated fans only use about 3-5w on the 5v I believe so don't worry it's fine really.

You don't need a 1K PSU. Go with the 620HX from zipzoomfly.com

that should be more than enough

EDIT: I figured I would say that the only difference from most 650w PSU's and 1K watt PSU's is the amount of amps on the 12v rails. Most PSU's only have around 170-180 w's on the 3 and 5v rails and then tons on the other rails. Since don't need as much on the 12v's this is why you don't have to worry. All things use "rails"....how else is the power transfered? it justr depends on which voltage your equipment needs.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
New computer by Jan buy or build? 1500 budg... Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 07-10-2007 01:22 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Build Questions: veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-07-2007 06:13 PM
Computer recording software N0toriou5 Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 10:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.