Recommend a PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Recommend a PSU

I currently have an AMD rig as is listed in my sig. I just got myself a 2900 PRO and it runs fine off the two 2x3 pin connectors, just no overclocking potential. Anyway, I have decided that I want to go Intel and am going to pick up the parts as I can afford them over the next few months. While I do not need a new PSU, it would be nice and am looking for some ideas. I would like:
1. 600 watt minimum
2. Modular cabling
3. Needs to have an available 2x4 pin connector

I welcome your comments.
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

quit caring about the wattage.... the 12v amperage is what matters... take it from an expert like me...

the Corsair 520 or corsair 550 is enough, it has enough amperage for a heavily oc'ed quad-core (even tho your not), and 8800ultra and a lot of drives and RAM
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Once again, for the millionth time, wattage on a PSU is insignificant.
You need to worry about the amperage on the 12V rail.

Suggestions: Corsair 520HX
or
PC Power & Cooling 610W

Remember, the Corsair has less amperage but MORE 12v amps, 54 to be exact. The PC Power & Cooling has more amperage but LESS 12v amps, 49 to be exact.
Pick and choose, hope you make a good choice.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

i don't know where this myth of more Watts is better for your system came from...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i don't know where this myth of more Watts is better for your system came from...
Remember Vernon, more horsepower, more speed.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Once again, for the millionth time, wattage on a PSU is insignificant.
You need to worry about the amperage on the 12V rail.

Suggestions: Corsair 520HX
or
PC Power & Cooling 610W

Remember, the Corsair has less amperage but MORE 12v amps, 54 to be exact. The PC Power & Cooling has more amperage but LESS 12v amps, 49 to be exact.
Pick and choose, hope you make a good choice.
Unless I am missing something, neither one of those appear to have the 2x4 PCI-E connector I want for my gpu.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

it has one.... because people use their beefier GPU's with those all the time...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Why would you need a 2X4?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Why would you need a 2X4?
ya i always thought they were 6pin's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: Recommend a PSU

Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Look at the side view pic and you can see the power connectors. The card does run off twin 2x3 but won't overclock stable without the 2x4.
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This PSU Good with 2900Pro? j.PRIME New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-07-2007 09:19 PM
Need PSU Suggestions lee42lee System Upgrades 1 10-05-2007 04:16 PM
changing psu from power mac robina_80 Apple and Mac 1 09-28-2007 03:54 AM
PSU Grenaded...Getting a new one... bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-25-2007 12:18 AM
VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 8 09-10-2007 12:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.