Rearranging and changing hard drives... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2010, 06:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

When you upgrade the motherboard, Windows recognises the computer as a different system (because it is). Depending on what key(/license) you have, it may or may not allow you to use that key.

It depends on if you have an OEM or a Retail key. With an OEM key, you can only use it on one system and that's that. But with a Retail key, as long as you completely uninstall Windows from the previous system, you're fine to use it on a new system. You occasionally need to use phone reactivation.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

Hey,

I'm also looking at getting an SSD for OS. I read this following review of an SDD drives and was wondering whether it was correct and if you could just explain what he's talking about?

"Speed over capacity
Pros: Fast, silent! The incredible IO's this drive can handle coupled with the fraction-of-a-second access speeds to anywhere on the disk makes heavy multitasking a breeze. Win7 starts in roughly half the time it used to and can open multiple demanding apps without delays typical of mechanical disks.
Cons: 60Gb doesn't go far. Wouldn't recommend for someone who is not confident in altering a few Win7 services to keep the drive running for longer. Each sector on the drive can only be written to ~10,000 times before it's unusable therefore windows page files and such need to be put elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: Worth googling for info on how to fine tune Windows 7 in particular to get the best life and usage from the drive as Windows is traditionally written towards caching and buffering large amounts of data for quick access - which is no longer required with a drive like this."

So I was just wondering if SSD's do need fine tuning for longer use and if it is much work?
__________________

RANGAdude is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 06:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

Actually I'm curious as to the answer to that as well, if anyone in-the-know would like to answer
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 08:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

That's interesting. Haven't really looked into how operating systems work, but if what that poster said is true, then I guess I'll be looking around for an OS tweaking utility.
__________________
Intel E7200 @ 2.53 (stock)
Gigabyte EP35-DS3L
2x1GB PNY RAM DDR2-800
Sapphire HD4850
Antec Earthwatts 430 Watt
22" Acer LCD
Jawnskeel is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 04:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

The reviewer is correct that the MLC cells on a SSD have limited writes but they are wrong about needing to manage that yourself. AFIK all good SSD controllers handle the wear leveling internally so no tweaks to the os would have any impact.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 02:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

I purchased a Kingston V 64GB SSD. Can that handle wear and will it not suffer performance degradation? Everything I google is like over a year old, and I know things have changed with SSDs since a year ago.
__________________
Intel E7200 @ 2.53 (stock)
Gigabyte EP35-DS3L
2x1GB PNY RAM DDR2-800
Sapphire HD4850
Antec Earthwatts 430 Watt
22" Acer LCD
Jawnskeel is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 10:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

you would have to spend hours on the phone with microsoft convincing them that it is infact the "same" computer
heister is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 05:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

Got both the 1TB and the Kingston in the mail. Moving the files off of my 250gig at the moment and I'll be installing the SSD later tonight. Hope the Windows license thing isn't an issue.
__________________
Intel E7200 @ 2.53 (stock)
Gigabyte EP35-DS3L
2x1GB PNY RAM DDR2-800
Sapphire HD4850
Antec Earthwatts 430 Watt
22" Acer LCD
Jawnskeel is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Rearranging and changing hard drives...

Just to update everyone. Speeds compared to my old hard drive are insane. Microsoft word takes an instant to open up. Powering the system up is very fast as well, beyond what I thought it would be. Takes a little getting used to memory-managing, but hey I'll deal with it. The 1tb is stinkin fast too from what I'm coming from. I did the crystaldiskmark tests, but I don't have a screenie or anything. If anyone wants me to upload a screenshot, I'd be more than happy too.
__________________

__________________
Intel E7200 @ 2.53 (stock)
Gigabyte EP35-DS3L
2x1GB PNY RAM DDR2-800
Sapphire HD4850
Antec Earthwatts 430 Watt
22" Acer LCD
Jawnskeel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing drives CHRIS24 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-05-2006 08:13 PM
Changing SATA drives MrFtns50 System Upgrades 2 02-11-2006 10:54 AM
Changing Hard Drives duncan Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 03-24-2005 08:36 PM
Renaming Drives - ie d:\ to u:\ not changing the title but the drive letter Jon Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-17-2004 04:58 PM
Renaming Drives - ie d:\ to u:\ not changing the title but the drive letter Jon Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 1 10-05-2002 10:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.