was it really worth it? fx 57 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 06:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yeah but chances are that if his parents bought it and he's all bragging and crap about it, he wont be overclocking it...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
What makes you think that the Fx-57 can't be overclocked? I've seen many people run their Fx-57 at 3.5+ GHZ stable, and uses it everyday. Can your opterons do that? No.
BS

Thats the catch. You can't overclock a FX-57 very much without running into heat issues. The FX series may use the better silicon, but its not that much better than normal processors. A FX-57 processor clocked at 2.8GHz is already close to it's thermal limits. 3.5GHz from a FX-57 on air cooling is just not done, it won't happen. It IS, however, possible from single-core Opterons, but only in extremely rare circumstances. I think the record for the highest clocked Opteron 100 on air cooling is 3.5GHz, so yea, world record = rare. Basically, the FX-57 is for those that either don't have the brains to overclock (pretty sad), are against overclocking because of misinformation or ignorance (also pretty sad), or have to choice due to supply or something (pretty sad that such a place would exist ).

A $170 Opteron 144 can often be overclocked to 2.8GHz to rival the FX-57 is every possible way, so no, a FX-57 is in no way worth it.
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Green Radience
BS

Thats the catch. You can't overclock a FX-57 very much without running into heat issues. The FX series may use the better silicon, but its not that much better than normal processors. A FX-57 processor clocked at 2.8GHz is already close to it's thermal limits. 3.5GHz from a FX-57 on air cooling is just not done, it won't happen. It IS, however, possible from single-core Opterons, but only in extremely rare circumstances. I think the record for the highest clocked Opteron 100 on air cooling is 3.5GHz, so yea, world record = rare. Basically, the FX-57 is for those that either don't have the brains to overclock (pretty sad), are against overclocking because of misinformation or ignorance (also pretty sad), or have to choice due to supply or something (pretty sad that such a place would exist ).

A $170 Opteron 144 can often be overclocked to 2.8GHz to rival the FX-57 is every possible way, so no, a FX-57 is in no way worth it.
Exactly what I was trying to say.

Quote:
The point you guys are missing is that even though an Opteron can reach the stock performance of a Fx-57 with its max potential does not mean it owns it. What makes you think that the Fx-57 can't be overclocked? I've seen many people run their Fx-57 at 3.5+ GHZ stable, and uses it everyday. Can your opterons do that? No.
The Opteron can OC over 1000mhz ... you'd be lucky to get the FX-57 beyound a 200mhz gain. And you payed $600 more for it ... Why pay four times more when you can spend a lot less for that much more performance.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Because you're rich?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Because you're rich?
Many people who appear to be "better off" are that way because of the way they budget for the best in situations like this for example.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
The Opteron can OC over 1000mhz ... you'd be lucky to get the FX-57 beyound a 200mhz gain. And you payed $600 more for it ... Why pay four times more when you can spend a lot less for that much more performance.
Other way around...opterons are nice chips but no way do they have a guranteed 1GHz+ ceiling, if that were the case AMD would be binning these cores closer to 3GHz, and I haven't heard of an FX-57 that has any issues breaking 3GHz

It might be true that a lower clocked core with a good fabrication has a better vcore to clock frequency ratio but that doesn't mean it's guranteed to even touch the speeds a higher factory binned core are capable of reaching...for example, an Opteron 144 might be able to bump up 300MHz for every 0.1vcore increase with a ceiling of 1.6vcore and an FX-57 might manage 200MHz for every 0.1vcore increase with a ceiling of 1.6 vcore, the FX-57 is binned higher at the same default therefore you'd have 3100Mhz vs. 3400MHz...the opteron has the better overclocking capability but the Athlon clearly has the fabrication quality and vcore binning neccesary to reach the higher clock frequencies

FX-57 stepping will also be far less likely to have issues with cold bugs that an opteron and that will also be a justification in price consider an FX under phase can easily break 3.6GHz which is ridiculously fast and isn't a speed that you buy out of the box
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

3.6 Ghz with an AMD? wow...
that makes me wonder what the highest frequency AMD is...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=82535
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.