was it really worth it? fx 57 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default was it really worth it? fx 57

i know some kids at school whos parents bought them fx 57s and they always talk about how amazing they are... i dont see how spending over 1000 on a processor can be that justifiable unless the user is flat out loaded lol

just want to hear some opinions on why you did and how if your happy
__________________

ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You have to be seriously rich to spend that much on a processor, especially with overclocking being free.

With those processors, you are just paying for the unlocked multiplyer
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

thats what i dont get

i have my little 3200... and im sure i could get it to 2.8 fine... i did it with my brothers and it runs perfect. being seriously rich though... i wouldnt complain a bit haha
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well my manchester reaches 2.7ghz stable that i've tested so far. i haven't tried higher yet. at 2.7ghz it equals if not outperforms the FX-60 for $1.2k (australian dollars) less
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

godamn... aussie costs on stuff can be harsh though

if you bmx its rediculous... most people i talk to say mostly from shipping and supply but godamn...

i could think of a million things id rather spend that money on...

like sleep aids
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: was it really worth it? fx 57

Quote:
Originally posted by ryanlopez4550
i know some kids at school whos parents bought them fx 57s and they always talk about how amazing they are... i dont see how spending over 1000 on a processor can be that justifiable unless the user is flat out loaded lol

just want to hear some opinions on why you did and how if your happy
He has what we like to call an ego and self-esteem problem. Perhaps they would of been better off paying for therapy.

Back on the serious topic ... A single core Opteron (144-150) could own any FX-57 with proper OCing and such.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Re: Re: was it really worth it? fx 57

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
He has what we like to call an ego and self-esteem problem. Perhaps they would of been better off paying for therapy.

Back on the serious topic ... A single core Opteron (144-150) could own any FX-57 with proper OCing and such.
Nice one, although I don't know if it could "own" an FX-57. However it would be right up there.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

isnt there some other way how you can unlock the multiplyers on other cpus?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Nice one, although I don't know if it could "own" an FX-57. However it would be right up there.
A CPU that costs $200 that performs as fast or faster than a $800 owns it.

Quote:
isnt there some other way how you can unlock the multiplyers on other cpus?
AMD allows you to use a smaller multiplier, but not larger. Intel locks them altogether.

The FX's multiplier's can be raised, but they can't take that much OCing due to heat issues I'd guess. No other CPU can have it's multiplier raised.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

The point you guys are missing is that even though an Opteron can reach the stock performance of a Fx-57 with its max potential does not mean it owns it. What makes you think that the Fx-57 can't be overclocked? I've seen many people run their Fx-57 at 3.5+ GHZ stable, and uses it everyday. Can your opterons do that? No.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.