Really Really Confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2005, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default Really Really Confused

I currently have an HP Pavilion A620N with an Enermax 485 watt PSU, Evga 6600GT, 512MB Ram, and everything else you see at the bottom (signature). I wanted to know, should i buy a NEW motherboard and a new case (mid-tower) or should i just buy a micro-atx case. I want to get a new case. I know that a Micro-atx motherboard will fit, but I tried it before and I tried the motherboard, but HP sent me a new one. I don't want that to happen again. So, can someone please help me and tell me what to do? Also, If I take off my heatsink to take off the processor to put it in a new motherboard, would I have to apply thermal paste again?


Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Go with a new mobo and case.

Check out the MSI K7N2 Delta2-FSR
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130512

You can pair that with any ATX case you want.

If you take the cooler loose, then you have to clean the CPU and reapply the paste.

If you replace the mobo you'll have to reinstall Windows and all your other programs, so be sure to back your data beforehand.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

wait if i change my mobo i'd have to reinstall windows??? could i just use my computers boot up disc for that?? or do i gotta actually buy windows??
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Well if your boot up disk comes with the wrong drivers, then u'd prolly need new windows.

Plus its always better to start off with a fresh window. You can get home edition for like 50 dollars retail from many places, and u can urgh get any windows free also in many places....
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 06:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

cant you just repair windows, which deletes all the window files and stuff and reinstalls them? and keeps your files
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

That looks like a good board, but my only *fear* is that i might fry the board when I put it in. Also, the jumper cables are a problem. I tried putting the jumper cables from a new case to a Micro-ATX motherboard, and it was a little hard for me, then the board started to smoke, and it died on me. So, yeah. Is there a board a little cheaper than that because I don't want to spend over 90 dollars total (I want to get a nice case because my hardware in my computer deserves it =D!!!). So, yeah, I was thinking about getting this mobo, but I guess it sucks.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186061

I don't know if that's a good board or not. I don't know much about them. Can you guys find me a board that's a little cheaper than 60, somewhere around 40 maybe..nothing over 50, I have a 100 dollar budget.
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Nothing wrong with that one. One guy had a bad experience, but that doesn't sink it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

But im just scared of frying my board, that's all. Also, I need to get some thermal paste. I won't be overclocking at all, so what should I get? Also, how do I put the board into the case and not touch the case? that's what happened with my old case... it touched the metal and it sparked/smoked, then it fried.
__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

There are little brass or plastic standoffs you put into certain holes in the case to raise the motherboard off of it some.... Make sure they go into the right holes.... Or one could touch the motherboard in the wrong place and short it out.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 11:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist
Default

Hrm. I was looking at a pretty cool case today. Newegg's shipping is 16 dollars for a case. o_O. I was thinking about going out somewhere and buying one, but it would probably be more money (even with shipping included on newegg) so I'm just going to order from there. They just have so many cases, I don't know which one to get, LoL. I'm really picky though so let's see if I can pick something cheap..that I like. =D
__________________

__________________
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.