Is this really needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default Is this really needed?

My cousin wants to build a computer, a gamin one but he wants a pentium d instead of an althon x2. He doesnt want AMD just because they dont support DDR2 RAM. What i want to kno, is DDR2 ram much faster than DDR?

He also thinks (like alot of other people) AMD is slower just because of their clock speed. I tried to explain to him how AMD processes more things at once but has a slower clock speed. He didnt get it. So i put it into different terms (just makin sure i have it right too) i told him picture AMD = Hummer and Intel = a dodge with a hemi, THe hummer will be more powerful and will be able to do more than the dodge but the dodge will be faster. Correct?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Tell him to wait a little bit until the new AMD socket comes out that can use DDR2. I think it comes out in Q2.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default Re: Is this really needed?

Quote:
Originally posted by meefle
My cousin wants to build a computer, a gamin one but he wants a pentium d instead of an althon x2. He doesnt want AMD just because they dont support DDR2 RAM. What i want to kno, is DDR2 ram much faster than DDR?

He also thinks (like alot of other people) AMD is slower just because of their clock speed. I tried to explain to him how AMD processes more things at once but has a slower clock speed. He didnt get it. So i put it into different terms (just makin sure i have it right too) i told him picture AMD = Hummer and Intel = a dodge with a hemi, THe hummer will be more powerful and will be able to do more than the dodge but the dodge will be faster. Correct?
No.

3200+ = amd 3.2GHz

The AMD is faster all the way.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.