Really hate Vista... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2007, 02:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Really hate Vista...

yeah sure Vista looks nice, but I take a huge performance hit from Aero in terms of ram usage. Anyways worst thing happens, I try to install Alcohol 120 from one of my old CDs, get a blue screen instantly. Restart, still get a blue screen in the desktop after it detects a plug and play device, safe mode doesn't work, resetting bios doesn't work, have to do a full reformat...I guess ill listen to people next time and just go xp and pray they come up with dx10 for it like Ste said...
__________________

Gabb is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

how many gigs of ram do you have?
__________________

ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

2 of the g.skill HZs running at 4-4-4-12
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

Isn't vista more stable at 4GB of ram? That's what I read on the internet.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

4gb is the best for vista, 2gb is the standard like running 1gb for XP.

40&#37; of your ram is given to vista in default for precaching programs, you can turn it off which should balance out performance
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

Yer, but if i had vista i would definitely have 4gb of ram.
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 04:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

but they said something like vista 32 bit can only handle 3 gigs max, and the other gig isnt registered or something like that
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

depends on your graphics card any 32bit operatng system can only address 4gb of ram. You have a gaphics card with onboard ram then that also has to be addressed. You end up with 3.25-3.5gb system ram if you stick in 4gb unless you go with 64bit where the limit 128gb of ram lol
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

2gb of ram is only need for vista. i have been running vista 32-bit with 2gb hz's aswell. and games are running really good, loading times fast. although it does use more ram 4gb i very over kill and definatley not needed.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Really hate Vista...

i have 1.5gb of pc3200 ddr400 ram lol but vista runs fine, i do get the blue screen sometimes, but thats usually when i have old display drivers, or every now and again it may happen, but then restart and everything is fine.
__________________

denni0302 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Ugh, I'm starting to HATE vista... c0rr0sive Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-15-2007 07:52 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.