Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2007, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Exclamation Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

Ok so apparently my computer likes to turn SLI off for no reason. This explains why i wasnt seeing an improvement in tabula rasa. Back to all stock 24/7 settings.
q6600 @ 3.6ghz 1.35v
4gb ddr2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12
SLI GT @ 650/1900

Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

These are the actual REAL world numbers im getting for crysis, cod4 and gears of war.

Gears of war = 1920x1200 res, full screen, all settings at max, dx9
caps at 62 fps rarely drops down to 50-55.
for the record, GoW was actually capped at 62 FPS with just a single GT

Crysis = 1920x2100 res, full screen, all options set to "high" cant select very high until i get my vista disc hopefully friday.
never lower than 30FPS ranging up to 44fps

CoD4 = 1920x1200 res, full screen, all options to on or normal, AA x4. Vsync on i stay pegged at 60 fps. If theres a ton of greenery on the screen i drop down to around 52.
Also, cod has an option in the graphics section for single or dual video card.

For the record, of the 3 games, cod4 seems to have the best hook. This post actually got delayed because cod4 sucks you in pretty well.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

ya it does. I just can't play it with full blown graphics.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

Ok I got a single GT playing on a 19" (1440X900) so hopefulyl Crysis will be around 40ish FPS.

I get 90FPS in COD4
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

good numbers here....makes me look forward to getting my second 8800GT!
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

hrmm can't wait to see what i get w/ the gtx at those resolutions!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Ok so apparently my computer likes to turn SLI off for no reason. This explains why i wasnt seeing an improvement in tabula rasa. Back to all stock 24/7 settings.
q6600 @ 3.6ghz 1.35v
4gb ddr2 @ 800mhz 4-4-4-12
SLI GT @ 650/1900

Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

These are the actual REAL world numbers im getting for crysis, cod4 and gears of war.

Gears of war = 1920x1200 res, full screen, all settings at max, dx9
caps at 62 fps rarely drops down to 50-55.
for the record, GoW was actually capped at 62 FPS with just a single GT

Crysis = 1920x2100 res, full screen, all options set to "high" cant select very high until i get my vista disc hopefully friday.
never lower than 30FPS ranging up to 44fps

CoD4 = 1920x1200 res, full screen, all options to on or normal, AA x4. Vsync on i stay pegged at 60 fps. If theres a ton of greenery on the screen i drop down to around 52.
Also, cod has an option in the graphics section for single or dual video card.

For the record, of the 3 games, cod4 seems to have the best hook. This post actually got delayed because cod4 sucks you in pretty well.

Your system sure is a power house beast, is it really necessary to even OC the 8800 GTs? Anyways I can't believe COH 4 is getting so much praise, I'm assuming you haven't played Battlefield 2 any. COH 4 is pretty much Battlefield 2 without the vehicles, sure its infantry combat is more refined then BF2s and the play mechanics are smooth and slick, but still...it really offers nothing new to the genre unlike Crysis or gears of war. Battlefield 2 did everything COH 4 did and WAY more over 2 years ago.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

i need gears of war.
the thing i dont like about COD 4 is the free for all.
there is absolutely no cohesion in that crap.
otherwise i like it pretty well.
BF2 is still better, though.
oh, my 8800GT rocks OUT BF2 and makes COD4 look like childs play. except when i am in free for all. did i mention that i hate free for all?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

...Battlefield 2 graphics are extremely dull

Could never get into the game at all either...


I'm not sure what you're saying here as COD4 is more like the other COD games than BF2.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

im saying that so far, i still like BF2 more than COD4. COD4 definitely has its good parts, tho.
as far as the free for all multiplayer, i hate it. lol but you can be a colonel in no time at all. that part rocks.
BF2 multiplayer is like crack, once you start, you cant stop. until you hit the hacker server, then you want to bash everyone, heh. dirty hackers.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Real world affects of an 18396 3dmark06 score

lol, right now im into crysis the visuals are just the best ever. want to get cod4 and gow but my dodgey ISP has me locked on 12GB a month
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can people post their cpumark score from 3dmark06? Sirius_GTO New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-15-2007 09:24 AM
Real world differences... Trifid New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-10-2007 01:16 PM
Kingpin takes back 3DMark06 World Record b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 5 09-01-2007 07:00 PM
25,867 - New World Record in 3dmark06...with HD 2900XTs b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-25-2007 01:44 PM
3dmark06 score funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 17 06-28-2007 11:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.