Is this for real? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 08:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I got the 3800+, and I love the baby.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 08:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

holy toledo,

heh i read the review.......

still not cheap enough for an upgrade
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 09:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I will never spend more than 30 bucks for .2 GHz difference, not that good as is.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah why not just get the 4400 and OC it to a 4800
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

you guys never read

the X2 4200, 4400 and 5000 has bad multiplier set, whatever divider you use with those for your ram, you will either have to downclock ur ram or overclock it, it will never run on stock speeds.

the x2 3800, x2 4600 and x2 4800 has a much better multiplier set.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
you guys never read

the X2 4200, 4400 and 5000 has bad multiplier set, whatever divider you use with those for your ram, you will either have to downclock ur ram or overclock it, it will never run on stock speeds.

the x2 3800, x2 4600 and x2 4800 has a much better multiplier set.

-Jo.
yeah but. 2 x 512KB L2 or 2 x 1MB L2. which would have greater performance?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The 2x1MB L2 of course.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Yes, a 3 to 5% advantage, and thats not even in games FPS, simply in the memory bandwith, and that would resault a memory bandwith loss of 10 to 30mb/ps.. which is nothing when you think of the overall numbers[8500~9500mb/ps]

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by R1C0CH3T
does anyone know if the x24800 is good/bad? never seen it in people's sigs at all
I have the 4800+, got it when it was expensive though . Anyway, I have it OCed to just under 3.0gHZ right now. Love the processor and plan to keep it until next summer.
Spartan is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

nice...yea read my sig, im plannin on settin up an x2 system too, man they got cheap fast(also i plan to oc the heck out of that)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.