Ready to throw this out the window ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2007, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Ready to throw this out the window ...

Ugh

I've tried everything!

My Abit P35 Pro WON'T Boot. I've taken all the components out except the CPU and heatsink (obviously), and left only the PSU running connected to the main power 24 pin, 12v by the cpu, and the 12v by the GPU. After upgrading to a brand new Corsair 520hx (thinking my 'old' 4 pin 12v Antec was causing the issue), it still does the same thing, except creates a high pitched beep now.

It keeps reading error code 9.9, which is supposed to mean "Complete Power Off Sequence". Right .. except I want to power on, not off!

What is the technical support number too? I can't seem to find it anywhere.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

Bad motherboard?

Universal abit > Motherboard, Digital Speakers, iDome, AirPace, Multimedia
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

Well if its a bad mobo mate, you RMA it get one a new one in 1 week, don't get frustrated its only silicon.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

Just a shot in the dark, but where you connect the case power button to the MoBo, take a flat scrue driver and touch the two connections while it's turned off, this fixed my ASUS, make sure you touch power and not the restart connection.
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

I'm really really ****ed off. I guess a week isn't long, shorter than expected, it's just the entire principal of the matter that irritates me.

I'm not totally understanding what your saying dawiz. I've tried a lot of random things.

Guess I'll just RMA.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

Probably a bad mobo like everyone said. Here's the plan...

You throw it out the window and I'll catch it. LOL
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

OMG PREACHER THATS MY TITLE
i'm trying to get a friend to make me a sig/avatar in the deathmetal theme
:edit: it could be a power supply issue too
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: Ready to throw this out the window ...

Nope, it's not. Wanna know how I know why? Because I bought a brand new Corsair HX520W, and it does the exact same thing. In addition, the corsair, and my 'old' Antec both work fine on my other setup. No, it's definitely the Mobo or the CPU, both of which I have just RMA'd (not taking any chances of it being one or the other).
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window Vista not compatible Mcafee virus scan freezy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-07-2007 08:57 AM
SLI Ready and CrossFire Ready D-Rocks System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 10:57 AM
Cannot install window xp pro sp2 from window home edition? kakashimarvel Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-24-2007 04:03 PM
Counter Strike only runs in window mode.... dashogun Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-24-2007 04:04 PM
Photography - removing window reflection? Willeh Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 04-16-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.