Read all Q6600 G0 owners: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Ive often heard something here and there about inaccurate q6600 g0 temperature readings and wonder if theres any truth to this statement:

"Your CPU is not defective. Current software does not support accurately reading G0 temperatures. Intel used a new thermal junction maximum value so it is throwing off current temperature monitoring software because they are using the old value in their delta calculations. "

Can anyone confirm this?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

no replies? jeez
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

yes, temps should be 15C higher than what the software ur using gives u. say if everest reads it at 40C then its actually 55C
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
yes, temps should be 15C higher than what the software ur using gives u. say if everest reads it at 40C then its actually 55C
but core temp gives me temps of like 42,34,34,37 at idle, so your saying the real temps are 15 C higher then this? That doesn't make any sense
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Why doesn;t it make any sense? You may have just found out your heatsync or paste isn't applied correctly :-P

Quote:
All C2D and C2D quad chips have a DTS inside the cores. For non-quad C2D chips, that constant is 85. So your Core Temp = 85 - DTS where DTS is the number the DTS is reporting. For a quad C2D chip, the constant is 100. So Core Temp = 100 - DTS.
They raised this constat, there fore the temp readings that software gives you is fof by 15 degrees. This is only so in some programs though! SpeedFan is said to be innacurate! But you can set speedfan to offset the temps automaticly. CoreTemp is a good app to use as it correctly states the temps.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Yeah use coretemp, it'll even show you that the T-junction is set at 100. I even double checked coretemp against my bios temp readings and it was spot on. 35 degrees
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Whats to say thats not off? How are you sure it is not affected?

How good/bad an idea would it be to imbed a thermocouple in the thermal paste? How thick is the thermal paste layer? If not, could you stick a blob on the side of the heatsink block and imbed a thermocouple in that?

I quite like the idea of having diagnostics that I can actually trust rather than relying on software written by some moron at microsoft who can't enter the correct number into a box.
Andyf is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 07:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

i will be aquiring a G0 soon. but wateva happened to the 3.9GHz at stock cooling? and heaps cooler. mine idles at 39c which doesnt seem to be too far behind everyone else
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

Speedfan, coretemp, everest, etc are not microsoft programs. My core temps change but my t-junction is always at 100, why is that? Currently im sitting at around 40 degrees idle at 3ghz and stock voltage.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Read all Q6600 G0 owners:

I heard this was only an issue with the dual core G0 processors.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 first boot up. Idles at 50 C after a few minutes? TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-09-2007 12:20 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Free Steam Games For Radeon Owners Osiris PC Gaming 1 05-30-2007 07:16 PM
Read only!!! gloomer Microsoft Windows and Software 1 03-30-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.