RE:Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2008, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Question RE:Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

What do I get now then? I already have the 860i, so I'm limited to 65nm tech. the q6600 is still a favorite and I JUST found a G0 one after about a month looking. is the q6600 still what I need to go for, or do I sell my 680i to get a 780 or 790i, or what? I'd REALLY rather not get rid of the 680i, really really rather not cause no matter what I sell it for, it's not going to be enough to realistically get the 790i. any help would be appreciated!
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

they're just crying cause you can't OC a 2.6 to 4.5, q6600's really aren't terrible. you just can't overclock them as high as you use to, but as they stated 3.6+ is still achievable.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

stick with the q6600. Unless you are an overclock whore like some of us, its way more than you'll need.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

never overclocked before in my life. I tried on a pI or PII, but yeah, no sucess... blackscreened it and everything, reset RAM unplugged everything, the whole nine yards, but I digress. yes, I am going to push every OUNCE of OC I can out of it, that's why I'm asking.
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

There is NOTHING wrong with them, they just don't overclock like the "old" ones did. Push it all you want, hopefully you have an aftermarket cooler
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

overclocking is alot easier than it was in the past. Chips these days will shut down long before you can hurt them.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Q6600 bad batchs...NOW WHAT??!!

sweet, and yeah, I have MONSTER aftermarket cooling....see Am I Overcooling??
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Gone Bad??? KNiGHTMaRe89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-14-2008 12:38 AM
Bad Block Svoloch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-01-2008 04:27 PM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
iifecca.dll - can't remove it, NOD32 says its bad? Akumajin Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 10-05-2007 04:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.