rate my case and help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2006, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default rate my case and help

http://microcenter.com/byos/byos_sin...duct_id=232152

good case? seeing howits green id like to sleeve some of my wires in green


now since it says Mainboard Supported - ATX, mATX
does that mean i have to buy the mobo and everything else in that series? can i mix and match ATX and other one or i pick one and stay wid it?? btw iam buying this stuff at microcenter by me im goin to store sooo
__________________

1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

ATX "form factor" simply means it's the normal, regular sized case, and a normal, regular sized motherboard will fit. So would a smaller motherboard (micro ATX), but you'd normally get that size motherboard only if you wanted something to fit that smaller sized case.
__________________

nsomniac is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

kk thanks but does it matter like what other stuff i get

just has to match motherboard?
1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

yes, basically the only two components that need to comply with the ATX form factor are the motherboard and power supply.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Yes...the rest just has to match the mobo (processor, video card, etc). Then the number of bays for drives and such is listed in the product description.

Incedentally, most people around here will warn against a power supply included in a budget case. They tend to be exceptionally unreliable.
Anyway, a search of the forum will turn up loads of threads discussing case choices, as well as the power supply issue.
nsomniac is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to 1337_d3r3k
Default

wow thanks i know to get a new psu (power supply unit) if thats right word caue they tend to break or what nots... soo yeah ty is sleevein good idea to?
1337_d3r3k is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Different PSU? you betcha!

Most PSU's that come with cases blow hard. The source of your pride and joy's power should not be relegated to some panty-waist power supply, especially with the combined power requirements of todays hardware.

Also consider the exhaust. I noticed that it has an 80mm, though not bad, most 120mm fans can move more air at lower RPM's = quieter Rig.

In addition there seems to be no intake on the front. a simple case mod to any drive bays that are unused can remedy that.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.