Rate My Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2009, 11:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: Rate My Build

Vista sees 4GB , I have 4GB in the slots. I've just checked another site and it says vista 32-bit recognized up to 4GB of ram, so I'm good.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ram.jpg (68.2 KB, 46 views)
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate My Build

You need to get Vista 64-bit. You're running 4gb of RAM with a 512mb video card. Not all your RAM is being recognized.

Are you saying you paid that much in USD for that build? I really hope that's not the cost of stuff on average in Turkey...that would suck. :\ For that kind of money around here, you could buy a sweet i7 build with multiple monitors or video cards.

EDIT: Weird that it recognizes all of it. It shouldn't. Did you check the task manager?
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: Rate My Build

Ah your right. On task manager it recognizes a total of 3326MB of ram.
That's still fine for now, the computer performs perfectly fine, whether I'm gaming or whatever.

To be honest, Turkey has high prices for things that are coming from outside the country.

On a side note, however, I would like to remind you that I got this build September 2008, and as far as I'm concerned, at that time, i7 wasn't out, and most of this stuff that I got was pretty good for the time (and still is).

Here is how much I paid for each component (then you can tell me if it is very high, normal or expensive for each)

-Intel Core2Duo E8500 3.16Ghz 64bit 6MB Cache 1333FSB 45Nm -> 222$,
-Zotac 9800GTX+ GDDR3 512MB -> 250$ (was one of the best cards I could find at the time and its amazing still)
-Asus P5Q3 Deluxe WiFi-AP DDR3 1600MHz -> 271$
-Corsair 4x1 GB Ram XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600MHz CL9 NVIDIA Ram -> 169$ for all 4
-Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200.11 NCQ Hard Disk -> 82$
-Cooler Master RC-690 460W nVidia SLI Compatible ATX Black case -> 149$
-High Power Absolute Power 650W PSU -> 149$
-Samsung SH-S223 22X Double Layer Lightscribe Sata DVD writer -> 30$
-Philips 22'' 220XW8FB LCD monitor -> 365$
-Logitech X230 2+1 32W RMS Sound System -> 63$
-Microsoft XP Pro English -> 162$ (Turkish version was noticably cheaper but I prefer english - expensive though right?)
- A4 Tech Gaming keyboard -> 10$
- A4 Tech Gaming mouse -> 25$
- Powersonic 1000VA LINE INTERACTIVE UPS -> 121$,

Total: 2068$
VAT / TAX: 206$

There. So what do you think of those prices. Remember once more, I got them in September 2008 when some of that stuff was pretty good and i7 was still not out.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Rate My Build

Again alittle more pricey, But not all that bad.

My rig with a 8800gt and the 520hx, bout the same time was 1800, but that included 7% tax and shipping.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate My Build

Considering it was back in September, it's not that bad price wise. Little more, but not as bad as I thought.

I thought you bought all this stuff in the past week or something, lol...sorry. Guess I didn't read the whole first post. :P
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 01:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Prisonbreak94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 258
Send a message via MSN to Prisonbreak94
Default Re: Rate My Build

Hehe, no problem my friend =)

Its a nice system and hopefully I'll be able to upgrade it later on for decent prices. I'm going to wait a bit and then maybe I can pursue an i7 processor and an extra ram once windows 7 is out I guess. And a new graphics card perhaps...Perhaps..one day :P
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"Be the change you want to see in the world..."
Hot System
Case - Cooler Master RC-690 460W | Mobo - Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 1866MHz | RAM - 4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz CL9 | CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition | GPU - Sapphire HD5850 Toxic | PSU - High Power 650W | HDD - Seagate 500GB 32MB Sata2 7200RPM | OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Monitor - Philips 22'' 220XW8FB
If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the scale under my avatar
Prisonbreak94 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 05:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate My Build

Quote:
Luke - I have DDR3 ram, not DDR2.
sorry, i did not notice that edit.... I should have said it better, if you have a x58 chipset, then you usually get 6gb of ddr3

if you think the bsod's are ram related run memtest with all four dimms in, if you get errors then take out 2. If you don't get errors anymore then you may want to get a 2x2 kit. But if the bsod's are not frequent then i would not bother.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 05:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Rate My Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prisonbreak94 View Post
Hehe, no problem my friend =)

Its a nice system and hopefully I'll be able to upgrade it later on for decent prices. I'm going to wait a bit and then maybe I can pursue an i7 processor and an extra ram once windows 7 is out I guess. And a new graphics card perhaps...Perhaps..one day :P
If you want i7 you'll need more than that! You'll HAVE to get all new ram and HAVE to get a new motherboard.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Rate My Build

He wont need new ram, i7 works just as good in dual channel, he will need a new mobo however but you can really use everything else.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Rate My Build

I would say your biggest shortfall is your GPU. That looks a little pricey for a 9800GTX+ but I can't really remember how much they cost back then.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
Rate This Build puppetmastersasori System Upgrades 2 11-14-2008 08:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Rate my First Build bmn51 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-08-2007 07:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.