Rate My Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2009, 11:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Rate My Build

Enermax's new PSUs are not at all "craptastic". Although you say modu and link to an infiniti.

Enermax is a great brand and has been making quality PSUs for ages.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:18 PM   #12 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Rate My Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by qHooteX View Post
On this system should be 64bit. All other may choose himself..

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-DS4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX Ultra Durable II AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-DS4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX Ultra Durable II AMD Motherboard

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-N285-1GH-B GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
GIGABYTE GV-N285-1GH-B GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

Newegg.com - CHIEFTEC Turbo CFT-750-14C 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
CHIEFTEC Turbo CFT-750-14C 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Newegg.com - A-DATA G series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
2X A-DATA G series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory=8GB

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor
Please don't start recommending parts until you have learned what is what. 64-Bit hardware is completely dependent on the CPU and all CPUs are now made with 64-Bit capability.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Rate My Build

^The only thing I will add to Baez's comment is 64-bit also applies to the memory indirectly and operating system. If an OS is 64-bit it supports more than the standard ~3.5GB of memory because each memory "address" can be 64 bits long, rather than 32 bits long, thus allowing many more possible addresses, which in turn is why you can use more RAM.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:42 PM   #14 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Rate My Build

I was talking purely hardware. But thanks .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Rate My Build

Thanks guys. Yeah baez i was half asleep when i was typing that out so more than likely I messed up somewhere, thanks for pointing out.
Cubby is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Rate My Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post

yeah, i would not get that ram,,, but 1066 IMO is pointless as you can oc 800mhz ram to that and even if you don't it's barely an increase in speed, also most 1066 kits (didn't bother to check that ocz kit) up the timings, which is worse. Id grab some ocz reapers or crucial ballistix.
one.

Umm that kit's timings are just as tight as the PC6400 kit (5-5-5-18) and dirt cheap even w/o the MIR, and it's only like $5 more than PC6400, so the 1066 ram gives you more overhead room to play with, makes sense to me at these prices
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 10:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate My Build

Quote:
Umm that kit's timings are just as tight as the PC6400 kit (5-5-5-18) and dirt cheap even w/o the MIR, and it's only like $5 more than PC6400, so the 1066 ram gives you more overhead room to play with, makes sense to me at these prices
LIKE I SAID, those kits up the timings usually, the average ddr2 800mhz ram is 4.4.4.12, and trust me, you should be wanting tighter timings then higher mhz. Also what pc6400 kit are you talking about that i recommended? i said crucial or ocz 800, never said to get any specific. Also no, it is harder to tighten the timings when the mhz level starts out at 1066, and easier to raise the mhz and keep the timings of a 800mhz 4.4.4.12 kit.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 10:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Rate My Build

well good point, 5-5-5-18 isn't terrible though, and I just figured as it's a new thing to him the Pc8500 would make it a little easier for him being as either way the timing will go up on either or, so it boils down to his choice really
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:34 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Rate My Build

Dont forget the cpu cooler. Everyone will tell u to get the "Sunbeam core contact freezer" It is a good one... some say the best , but there are others. I use a zerotherm nirvana nv120 right now and it does the trick. Be careful though , they vary greatly in quality. An aftermarket cpu cooler is a must if u plan on heavy gaming/overclocking. p.s they're cheap!
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Rate My Build

See I work during the day, so generally I won't be playing then and at night I have my ac on, would still recommend getting an aftermarket cpu cooler.
__________________

Cubby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
Rate This Build puppetmastersasori System Upgrades 2 11-14-2008 08:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
Rate my First Build bmn51 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-08-2007 07:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.