Raptor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default Raptor

ok, so right now i have a WD caviar 160gb hd. i have been having triouble with loading times with games so im gonna get a raptor. just a 36 gb one to hold only games. is this fine to do or is it totally retarded?
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

they are not pratical for the price today what are your system specs.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to theshonen8899
Default

I don't really find a point in owning a Raptor. Yes it's faster, but that's what memory's for. The low capacity and price seems really retarded to me.
__________________
Case: Thermaltech Tsunami
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 2800+
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf3 250gb
Memory: 1 gb G.Skill PC3200
HD: 74gb WD Raptor/120gb WD Caviar/500gb WD Caviar
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS/XT
theshonen8899 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

make sure you defrag your disk at least once a week. raptors are fast, but it probily wont make much difference onless you go RAID 0. if you do go with the raid,don't overclock too much,youll want stability. another thing, these drives sound like a chainsaw! they are very noisy.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well how many games do you have.... if its only like 5 games.. then go for it.... but games seem to get more space hungry so you may want to go bigger... cuz i found out all my games (doom 3, fear, sims 2 w/ nightlife and university, bf2, c&c generals, and all my half life games) take up 25.5 gb's... and i'm planning on getting alot more.. so if ur a hard core gamer and play alot.. i would say no, don't get 36 gb.. that is not enough in any way....
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ohh crap i just order one
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

****, should i have gotten another gig of ram instaed of a 74gb 10k hdd?????????
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

well, depends. 2 gigs isn't that important at this point in time, so you're ok atm
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea, but i just spent 90pounds on a new hdd to work with my existing 120mb 7.2k, for that cash i could have gottena nother gig of ram, makign 2gb, what would have had the mkost effect/been worth while
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, i would say 74 gb is good enough dedicated to games.... for now.... i too am gonna order one with my next check, i can't wait to see how much of a difference it is compared to this 7200... not a very good hard drive to start with.. but i don't care!! haha you could also consider a 16mb cache 7200 rpm hard drive, i heard those were pretty fast as well... and this is a bit off top, but how do you connect a 15,000 rpm hard drive to a comp... its like a 60 something pin... or something like that....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822141140

i am stumped... SCSI Ultra320 80pin
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.