raptor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default raptor

would it be worth it to get one 74 gig raptor?
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 98
Default

i'd get a 36gb with another 200gb or so 7200 hdd, the raptor for OS and games annd the 7200 hdd for everything else... if you have the $
__________________

SushiBoi92 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

yea i dont... that's why i was asking.

I don't really need a huge hd... like maybe 120 or so, and I'd even have trouble wit that.

also, since the raptors are OEM, if i got 2 hds, would I need 2 SATA Cables?
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 98
Default

i'd say if you dont have the money then dont get it, since it will not matter as much if you have good ram and cpu.

you'll still need just one cable with the two connectors on them, then you'll just have to adjust the little pin thingies to set primary and secondary hdds. it should be in the manual
SushiBoi92 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

sata cables should come with your mobo but if your out of them yea you would need to buy more cables
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

ok thx, i'm gonna buy this instead:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144416

It's a 200 gig Caviar
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

This is the 4000th Thread, "Is the WD Raptor worth it."
IF you have to ask if it's worth it, you can't afford it anyway...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 98
Default

check out www.techbargains.com they constantly have sales on HDD's, from 120 gb to over 300gb with massive rebates. still not as good as black friday tho...
SushiBoi92 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Mmmm... I think i might add a 36GB raptor later on ^_^.

Sounds cool, krypto.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 98
Default

i think there really isnt a big difference in hdd's because i have an 80gb maxtor and it works fine, and another 160gb WD which has no problems, but i heard seagates are supposed to be a bit better?
yeah so i 'd just get the cheapest one for the most gigs
__________________

SushiBoi92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.