Random shutdown due to under powered computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 10:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

even good brands have a few bad eggs sometimes i guess, but i'm with kmote, a 620w (seasonic) should easily power your rig.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

Sean buddy, Seasonic makes something like 60% of ALL psus out there, including Corsairs, and just sends out the guts to get brands packaging put on.

Likde eveyone says, but Sean , get a multimeter and check the voltages.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

OH, and check to make sure the power supply wires aren't shorting on anything what so ever, if it detects a short, a psu usually kills power to prevent damage almost instantly, so something could be shorting out somewhere.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

I would use the digital volt/ohm meter to check to see if it's shorting on anything, or is there something else I need to do. I have no idea about any of this, so kind of out of my element.

Regardless of personal preferences towards manufacterers, the 620W should be able to run my system no problem? Upgrading to a 700W wouldn't make much of a difference?

Wonderful, so either the PSU is faulty or it's something completely unrelated to the PSU and I'm back to square one.
Feeling kind of out of my depth with this problem.
Now to find a digital volt meter.

Thanks for the help.
Mister Inveigler is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

A decent one is at wally world for like $15, they come in handy, but yea, do as I said earlier, hook it up to a power dongle that isn't in use, and make sure that it isn't touching anything that can short out, while using the PC keep an eye on your voltage, and tell us the lowest voltage you recognize, also, you need to physically check your wires for any bare metal that is touching the case/another part, as it could be a small short.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

I'm in Switzerland and don't know my way around here very well, but I'll see what I can find.

As for the wires, I know for a fact that there is no bare metal on the wires. Everything is encased in plastic and has netting overtop which holds all the wires together.
I should be able to find the voltage in the BIOS when I boot? Do I need to test every power cable or just any one?
I'll try it out tonight
Mister Inveigler is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:31 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

The BIOS reports it, but it relies on sensors on the motherboard, which could be wrong. When using the volt/ohm meter, monitor the 12v rail, as that is one of the more important, and most used ones, then monitor the 5v and 3.3, if you don't drop much, or gain to much, then your PSU should be fine, but if you get huge drops/gains in voltage, or it fluctuates drastically, and quickly, then the PSU is a bad egg.

BTW, all yellow goes to the same place, same with the other colors, unless you have multiple 12v rails, then you will need to test a 12v cable from each 12v rail, which can become difficult in finding a cable on a different 12v rail.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

What you easily test comes from a molex connector, and is best tested under load, so run prime or 3dVantage.
This is a great how to: Overclockers Hardware - How To: Test PSU Voltages
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

your cpu is running at 88C wow thats HOT do you have the cooler on it? did you put the thermal paste on if the cooler is on it? you might want to upgrade to a better cooler if your getting those kinda numbers
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Random shutdown due to under powered computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heister View Post
your cpu is running at 88C wow thats HOT do you have the cooler on it? did you put the thermal paste on if the cooler is on it? you might want to upgrade to a better cooler if your getting those kinda numbers
Yha, thats a suspect too come to think of it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My computer just had a random shutdown.. turboxchaz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-29-2007 08:50 PM
Random Shutdown bodgybrp Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 11-12-2005 02:36 AM
random shutdown socom234 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 01-15-2005 02:03 PM
Random Shutdown Big Chub Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 05-20-2004 12:13 PM
Random shutdown JQG Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-30-2004 02:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.