ram voltage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2008, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default ram voltage

I have 4 gigs of ballistix, which runs at 2.2v, but if im not mistaken, my ds3r natively runs ram at 1.8. So should i set my ds3r bios to +.4v?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: ram voltage

this derserves a bump. Im also wondering cause I just ordered the Crucial Ballistix 2gb and DS3R Mobo.
__________________

Cuong is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ram voltage

Yes..
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ram voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
I have 4 gigs of ballistix, which runs at 2.2v, but if im not mistaken, my ds3r natively runs ram at 1.8. So should i set my ds3r bios to +.4v?
ya

5 Character Limit
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: ram voltage

yes, but 2.2V is pretty high for your RAM, and should be unnecessary unless you overclocked it like 150+MHz
thenovices is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ram voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenovices View Post
yes, but 2.2V is pretty high for your RAM, and should be unnecessary unless you overclocked it like 150+MHz
mine is OCed to 926 i think right now.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ram voltage

Crucial memory is rated to be run at 2.2v.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ram voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenovices View Post
yes, but 2.2V is pretty high for your RAM, and should be unnecessary unless you overclocked it like 150+MHz
thats the default suggested RAM

Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

check under specifications
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: ram voltage

good memory chips can be run at 2.2v with no problem. Even 2.3 is possible usually...anything beyond that is really pushing it. The safest best with chips such as the Crucial are 2.2v
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ram voltage

at least 1 set of ocz reapers are rated up to 2.35V. I think the reapers i got are rated to 2.3v
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Voltage tony.willson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-09-2007 03:21 PM
RAM Voltage Kurt Rambis Overclocking and Modding 6 11-19-2007 02:12 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.