Ram Upgrade Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2005, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Ram Upgrade Question

I am thinking about upgrading from 1 gig to 2 gig's of ram. I have a gig of this:

I was reading reviews for this ram and i saw this one in particular that caught my eye...BUT BE CAREFUL: If you are running an A64, do NOT get four of these (2GB). You cannot run 1T command cycle with four SDRAM chips -- it's a problem w/ the A64 memory controller. If you need 2GB, get two 1GB chips. I have four and am stuck at 2T (which is a big performance hit). FYI.

I have an asus a8v deluxe mb, amd64 3500+, and a bfg 6800gt graphics card. Will getting a second gig really be worth it??

Thanks in advance

Tree is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to underworld288

i would say stick with the 1gig of RAM, it will be a waste of your money.

RAM: 1.0GB
HDD: 420Gb Hard Drive
OS: Windows XP Pro
VC: MSI NX7800GT (stock)
PRO: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice (stock)
MOBO: MSI K8N Neo4-f
underworld288 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati

lol ok first of all please dont listen to underworld, and second of all 1gb is optimal peformance, 2gb is high performance. unless you do not game then you dont need 2gigs but im a gamer and you really need two gigs to max out bf2, fear, and morrowind oblivion also will need 2gigs. of course, unless you like memory lagg 1 gig will work lol. and i would also reccomend 2x1gb sticks, because going from 2t to 1t is a great difference, my brother is running a amd 64 3000 939 venice at 2.8ghz and hes runing 1t and his bandwidth is like 7.2gb hes also running ddr500, so thats why is bandwidth is so hi, i myself would love to have 2 gigs but it is expensive, but deffinetly worth the upgrade if you want to max out the latest games with no memory lagg.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2

Any good recomendations on dual channel 2 gigs of ram? Thanks in advance
Tree is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut

I am getting this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16820231032. Cheap for 2 gigs and has very nice timings and low latency. Your welcome btw.
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920





Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.