RAM timings and voltage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2006, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default RAM timings and voltage

The timings on the Newegg product page of my RAM say 2-3-3-6, but when I popped it in it was default 3-3-3-8. I am going to go into BIOS later and tighten the timings a bit, and I was wondering how much I such increase my voltage, since I've read thats what's necessary to get the stock timings.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I think the RAM you have needs to be at 2.75 volts. Then use a program like AMD tweaker to tighten the timings.

Oh yea, I think that ram runs @ 2.5-3-3-6 on AMD.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Ok, so in my BIOS, the "DDR Voltage" is set to auto, but it has manual settings like 2.6v, 2.65v, 2.7v, 2.75v, etc etc on and on.

Should I jump right to 2.75v, or increment it up little by little. I'm going to take turtile's advice and set the timings to 2.5-3-3-6.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
and I was wondering how much I such increase my voltage, since I've read thats what's necessary to get the stock timings.
No...if it's stock timings then it just needs stock voltage. You wouldn't raise voltage for anything that's supposed to be stock.

Look at newegg, it should show the default voltage. For most DDR RAM it's 2.6v
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Yes, ok, but stock voltage listed on the newegg product page for my RAM is 2.75v, and I don't know what my motherboard is set at now. In BIOS, should I jump right to 2.75v, or increment it up little by little?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I have the same RAM, Im running 2-3-3-6 on my AMD. My voltage is set at 2.7 and reading at 2.75. This has been tested for 6 hours using memtest without errors.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Default

If you want to use the RAM at stock speeds, get all of the info from newegg and set it identically in the bios

So yeh, use 2.75v - if thats what the RAM spec says it needs, it will be fine to use.
peter7 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 11:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I think that these sticks even retain their warranty up to 2.8V so its not going to do any damage setting it at 2.7/2.75.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Yes, ok, but stock voltage listed on the newegg product page for my RAM is 2.75v, and I don't know what my motherboard is set at now. In BIOS, should I jump right to 2.75v, or increment it up little by little?
If newegg says stock voltage is 2.75, then put it at 2.75. I was only giving an example and saying "most" DDR RAM is 2.6v at stock. I was simply making a comment based on your "I heard you need to raise voltage to get stock timings" which is incorrect. If your BIOS puts it at 2.6 and it's supposed to be at 2.7, yeah you're raising the voltage, but it's not the same as having to raise voltage as a result of OC'ing

ANYWHO, yes.....if the stock voltage is 2.75, then just set it to 2.75, you dont need to do increments.

Quote:
I think that these sticks even retain their warranty up to 2.8V
Yeah, check the RAM specs, each one is different. My particular sticks are covered up to 2.95v, but they are also high performance. Since those sticks aren't, I wouldn't be surprised if corsair limits the warranty to 2.8 like you said.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Raised voltage to 2.75v and set timings to 2-3-3-6, works like a charm. Passed 6 Memtest86+ tests earlier. Works like a charm. Thanks for the info guys.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.