RAM timings and Overclocking info post - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2008, 06:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

btw, this is in the wrong forum... ask a mod to move it?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Get ram with tight timings, then when overclocking loosen them to achieve higher mhz out of them.

That is what I was thinking to do.. I got confused though, lol

Thanks y'all

PS: Sorry then if this is in the wrong forum =\ - Originally this was a post to figure out what RAM to buy.. thus building and upgrading your PC would have been the right forum. I guess it IS more of a technical question due to overclocking though
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 01:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
i lost .2 off my SuperPI score with lower mhz and tighter timings 0_0

anyways, when you overclock, you wan't incredibly lax (loose) timings and very low frequencies so that you know the ram isn't the problem
Thats Superpi. These were gaming benchmarks
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 02:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

u actually get a better 3dmark 06 score with higher frequency ram then you do with tighter timings, my ram at 1066mghz scores more then it does at 850 with 4-4-3-8 timings.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

higher freq VS Lower Times - Overclockers Forums
Try sisandra or Everest. Shows that tighter timings win. I shouldn't of said gaming benchmarks. I have read articles where in gaming the tighter timing wins but the difference is little
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 07:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

All summed up..
Buy for the highest bus speed. Timing can be adjusted on your own, and wont bring any noticeable performance. Lower timings don't offer you better overclocking. Decreasing your timings can actually make your RAM less stable.

Example. I have A-DATA 2x1gb sticks.
They came at a stock 5-5-5-18 @ 1.9v, 800mhz
I overclocked them to 5-5-5-18 @ 2.1v, 920mhz
The mhz speed is proportional to your cpu speed. So increasing this increases the clock of your cpu (what your goal is.) I had to increase the voltage to the ram to make sure they keep stable at that speed.

I could decrease my timings to 4-4-4-15 but that wont help me overclock. It would just ever so slightly, increase the performance of my ram. Its not worth the trouble.

So by doing all this I got my e8400 at 4ghz
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 08:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: RAM timings and Overclocking info post

Wow 4GHz....*Drool*
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Help with RAM Timings Please Blitersety Overclocking and Modding 36 11-27-2007 06:16 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.