Ram speed difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2007, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Ram speed difference?

Alright I am upgrading my computer to AM2 with a 8800gt and a 6000+, but I plan on using my old 3200 ram for a while. How much speed increase can I expect if I change it out for some crucial 6400 ram? Is it worth the $$?
__________________

__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

u can't use AM2 and ddr1 together..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

It's not backwards compatible? Well son of a liar, I hate "experts". Looks like I need to save some money.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

ya, pc3200 = ddr1
You'll need to buy some ddr2.

Good news at least, ddr2 memory is dirt cheap right now.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

Yep, thanks. Question answered, thanks guys. I'm now embarrassed I didn't know this.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

Meh, happens to the best of us. Unless you deal with this stuff everyday you arent going to konw everything. For the record, never listen to any so called "expert" that works for a retail chain. They're usually high school kids that dont know their *** from their elbow.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Meh, happens to the best of us. Unless you deal with this stuff everyday you arent going to konw everything. For the record, never listen to any so called "expert" that works for a retail chain. They're usually high school kids that dont know their *** from their elbow.
actually some of them may know it, but most likely they're not. I mean, y work in that section when u dont know about it?

my bro works in Home Theater in Circuit City n knows more about TVs then i do but i do know some things he doesnt know. I had a good talk with a guy about what 'Game Mode' was n how it was different n my brother didnt even know, not even that u can update the software of ur HDTVs nowadays lol.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 10:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Meh, happens to the best of us. Unless you deal with this stuff everyday you arent going to konw everything. For the record, never listen to any so called "expert" that works for a retail chain. They're usually high school kids that dont know their *** from their elbow.


HEY!! Whats wrong with high school kids?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

When i was 12... a guy at bestbuys convinced me that an external hard drive would make me able to play games without lag on my computer.

I hate them.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 11:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Ram speed difference?

lol. poor you. when i got my first computer, i was allowed to spend 1000 bucks on it, and we did a customized compaq at circuit city, and the only thing i wanted to do was game, and i told the guy that, and he gave me 32mb onboard nvidia gfx.


but i got them back, i went off for 10 minutes a year ago about the mx518 and if they had any, and they didn't know what i was talking about. the guy was like let me check if we have any, and he went and got his manager to help me. lol /fail
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
3GB-4GB RAM, difference? ton247 Laptops and Notebooks 7 12-05-2007 08:38 PM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 04:47 AM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 01:54 PM
What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed? fcui21 System Upgrades 2 09-29-2007 01:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.