RAM selection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2007, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
QuaziBee's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default RAM selection

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Seems like a no brainer with the rebate but what do you think?

Yes I will OC, yes its for gaming, no I don't know what "I aint no holler back girl" means.

Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: RAM selection

Go with a better price or go with the better overclocking ram, your choice.


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
ivan chaos's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: RAM selection

i would go with the g.skill ram.
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
kobe24's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: RAM selection

yeah gskill ftw
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: RAM selection

I'd go for the Crucial but keep in mind I don't OC. The G Skill would probably be better if you are.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM selection

same RAM overclockability... crucial is just as good as g-skill... take the crucial with the rebate............
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
PanzerKammander's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: RAM selection

If crucial was the exact same price as gskill... everyone would be putting crucial in their rigs. Its worth the money even without rebate. lol
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: RAM selection

here's a good deal on the crucial ddr2-1000


40$ MIR
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 08:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: RAM selection

definatley the the gskill. and if those are hz's even better those things are monsters
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
siddanth3's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: RAM selection

do those ballistics overclock good too. well maybe not close to the hz but they do overclock a good amount dont they

Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with AMD CPU selection. Cunder New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-10-2007 10:14 AM
Motherboard selection sammybaines New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-29-2007 09:51 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.